The United States requires that you are properly licensed before you can practice as an eye extension professional. It is important to state that aside from the general requirements, each state may decide to come up with their own special requirements for issuing license to eye extension practitioners. It might interest you to know that the laws regulating eyelash extensions and licensure are set at the state level, rather than federal level.

Hence, it is important to visit the appropriate authority when intending to apply for an eye extension license and also to make sure that you are practicing within the scope of the law in the state. As a matter of fact, you are expected to hold an esthetician or cosmetologist license in most states, including Washington, California, Arizona, and Colorado before you can legally practice.

Texas also has eyelash extension requirements that need the completion of an eyelash training program. The training program must include at least 320 hours of classroom instruction and practical experience, as well as at least 8 hours of theoretical instruction. So, if you live in a state that allows you to perform eyelash extension applications under your cosmetologist or esthetician license, or even if you live in a state where requirements do not exist, it is important to complete an eyelash extension course to ensure you are properly trained.

Please be informed that eyelash extension training programs require applicants to provide proof of a current cosmetologist or esthetician license. Many programs also accept licensed medical and dental professionals. Usually, the duration for completing these programs is between 1 to 3 days.

Interestingly, eye lash extension companies such as NovaLash, Sugarlash, Xtreme Lashes, and Glad Lash, provide training programs that result in a specialty certification. In addition to a course of classroom and practical training, these eyelash extension training programs often provide eyelash extension kits that come with all of the tools and supplies needed to begin performing this service.

Standard Exams and Training Requirements

If you are interested in getting an eye extension license in the United States of America, your training program should include:

  • Infectious and contagious diseases of the eye
  • Allergic reactions
  • Proper sanitation practices
  • Client preparation
  • Lash bonding and effective bonding tips
  • Occupational health and safety practices
  • Eyelash extension application procedures
  • Eyelash extension isolation and separation procedures

The General Requirements and Procedure for Getting an Eye Extension License in The United States of America

In the United States, despite the fact that each states may decide to come up with a unique set of regulations, it is important to state that there is a standard requirement and some of the basic requirements you are expected to meet irrespective of the state that you are residing are;

  • You must apply for federal background checks. They may apply through the state bureau of investigation or a local police department. Results are to be sent directly to the licensing agency.
  • Achieve minimum licensure requirements
  • Achieve required education/experience for licensure
  • Complete fingerprinting process for background investigation
  • Complete license application and provide necessary documentation
  • Pass state examination
  • Maintain state licensure through continuing education and license renewal
  • Applicants also need three reference letters
  • Transcripts are to be sent straight from the Cosmetology school that you attended or any other beauty school.
  • Legal residency must be documented. An applicant who was born in the United States may include a notarized copy of a birth certificate.
  • The applicant will need to attach a two by two photograph to the application form and have the accompanying affidavit notarized.
  • Applicants who have criminal or disciplinary histories will need to provide details.

How to Get an Eye Extension License in Each State of USA

1. Alabama

In the state of Alabama, there are no unique license requirements for eye extension, but you are expected to meet the basic requirements and also the requirements for securing a cosmetology license in the state because it is the cosmetology board that regulates licensing for eye extension practitioners.

2. Alaska

In Alaska, if you are a licensed Hairdressers, Estheticians, or you already own a medical license, you will not require a special eye extension license to practice in the state. But is you don’t own any of the above stated license, then you are expected to meet the basic requirements as stated and above and also contact the state board to know if they have their own unique requirements.

You can contact them via;

(907)465-2547 and [email protected]

3. Arizona

Arizona is one of the states that allows licensed Cosmetologist and Aesthetician to practice as professional eye lash extension specialist without a license. Please note that if you don’t have any of the above stated license, then you will require a license to be able to work as an eye lash extension specialist in Arizona.

In order to get an eye lash extension license in Arizona, you expected to you are expected to put in 1,450 hours of a board-certified cosmetology program. Pass both a theory and a practical exam to receive your license. In addition to that, you must be at least 23 years old; 2 years of high school education or equivalent.

As regard trainings, you are expected to put in 1600 school hours; Written and practical exams. Please be informed that you are expected to renew the license every year by your birthday; $30 Fee. For reciprocity the requirement is at least 1 year of practice in current state of licensure within the five years prior to application

Once you have completed the applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

The Arizona Board of Cosmetology

(480)784-4539

[email protected]

boc.az.gov

4. Arkansas

In the state of Arkansas, if you already have a license as a Cosmetologist or you have a medical license or practice in a medical facility, you can successfully practice as an eye lash extension professional. In case you don’t have any of the above stated license, then you are expected to complete a 1,500-hour formal cosmetology program, and pass a written test to obtain your license. So also, you must be at least 16 years old and have a 10th grade education or equivalent

As regard training, you are expected to put in 1500 school hours; Written and practical exams. You are expected to renew your license every 2 years by the practitioner’s birthday and with $80 Fee. To qualify for reciprocity, you are expected to hold a valid cosmetology license; Have certification of licensure and training; Pass a state law exam. Once you have completed the applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

Arkansas State Board of Cosmetology

(501)682-2168

[email protected]

healthy.arkansas.gov

5. California

As a licensed Cosmetologist, Esthetician, or if you are working under physicians in the state of California, then you would need a special license to be able to work as an eye lash extension professional. But if you don’t have any of the above stated license and you want to work as an eye lash extension professional, then you must meet the basic requirements and also you are expected to Pass a 1,600-hour board-approved course or complete an apprenticeship of 3,200 hours plus 220 hours of classroom time. You must pass a theory and a practical test to get the license.

In addition to that, you are expected to also be at least 16 years old; 10th grade education or equivalent. You are expected to renew your license every 2 years, in odd-numbered years, by the original licensing date and you will pay $50 fee. Once you have completed the applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

California Board of Barbering and Cosmetology

(800) 952-5210

[email protected]

You can also visit eginfo.ca.gov for more information.

6. Colorado

In the state of Colorado, as a licensed Cosmetologist or Esthetician, you would not need another license to be able to work as an eye lash extension practitioner. Please be informed that if you don’t have any of the above stated licenses, then you would be required to apply and get an eye extension license before you can legally practice in Colorado and in order to qualify for the license having met the basic requirements, you are expected to complete an Associate degree of 60 credit hours.

Take a practical and a written exam to get your license. In addition to that, you must be at least 16 years old. Please be informed that you are expected to renew every 2 years, in odd- or even-numbers years, by April 30; and you are expected to $32 fee / $47 reinstate fee. Once you have completed the applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

Colorado Office of Barber and Cosmetology

(303)894-7800

[email protected]

You can also visit cdn.colorado.gov for more information

7. Connecticut

In the state of Connecticut, there are no unique license requirements when applying for eye extension license, but you are expected to meet the basic requirements and also the requirements for securing a cosmetology license in the state because it is the cosmetology board that regulates the licensing for eye extension practitioners. So, when you complete the applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

The State Board

(860)509-7603

[email protected]

You can also visit ct.gov to get more information.

8. Delaware

As a licensed Cosmetologist, Esthetician, Instructor or if you are working under physicians in the state of Delaware, then you would need a special license to be able to work as an eye lash extension professional. But, if you don’t have any of the above stated license and you want to practice as an eye lash extension professional, then you must have completed a 1,500-hour cosmetology program or a 3,000-hour apprenticeship.

Pass the online exam with a 75% or higher and attain a 10th grade education or equivalent. Please be informed that you will be required to renew your license by Oct. 31 of even-numbered years. Once you have completed the applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

Delaware Board of Cosmetology and Barbering

(302)744-4500

[email protected]

You can also visit delcode.delaware.gov to get more information

9. District of Columbia

In the state of District of Columbia, as a licensed Cosmetologist or Esthetician, you would not need another license to be able to work as an eye lash extension practitioner. Please be informed that if you don’t have any of the above stated licenses, then you would be required to apply and get an eye extension license before you can legally practice in District of Columbia and in order to qualify for the license having met the basic requirements and then forward your applications to

The Board of Cosmetologist DC

(877)374-1155

[email protected]

dcregs.dc.gov

10. Florida

In the state of Florida, as a licensed Facialist Specialist, Cosmetologist, or Full Specialist, you will not require a special eye lash extension license to be able to practice in the state. But, if you don’t have any of the above stated license, then you must finish a course of study that is at least 1,200 hours.

Pass a two-part exam to obtain your cosmetology license and be at least 16 years old; High school diploma Please note that you are expected to renew by October 31; Group 1 licenses: even-numbered years / Group 2 licenses: odd-numbered years and pay $55 fee. Once you have completed the applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

Florida Division of Professions, Board of Cosmetology

(850)487-1395

[email protected]

myfloridalicense.com

11. Georgia

If you are a licensed Master Cosmetologist, Esthetician, or if you own a medical license in medical facility, then you would not need a special license to work as a professional eye lash extension fixer. But, if you don’t have any of the above stated license, then you must complete a 1,500-hour cosmetology program or a 3,000-hour apprenticeship with at least 18 months of training. Pass the two-part cosmetology exam to receive your license.

In addition to that, you must be at least 17 years’ old. Please note that you are expected to renew your license biennially by March 31 of even-numbered years and with a fee of $50. Once you have completed the applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

Georgia State Board of Cosmetology

(404)656-2881

http://sos.ga.gov/cgi-bin/email.asp

sos.ga.gov

12. Hawaii

In the state of Hawaii, as a licensed Cosmetologist or Esthetician, you would not need another license to be able to work as an eye lash extension practitioner. Please be informed that if you don’t have any of the above stated licenses, then you would be required to apply and get an eye extension license before you can legally practice in Hawaii and in order to qualify for the license having met the basic requirements, you must attend a program of at least 1,800 classroom hours or 3,600 hours of an apprenticeship and pass the closed-book exam to get your license.

In addition to that, you must be at least 16 years old; High school education or equivalent. Please be informed that you are expected to renew your license by March 31 of odd-numbered years and pay a fee of $100. Once you have completed the applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

Hawaii Board of Barbering and Cosmetology

(808) 586-3000

[email protected]

hawaii.gov

13. Idaho

As a licensed Cosmetologist or Esthetician in Idaho, you can successfully practice as a professional eye lash extension fixer without any additional license. But, if you don’t have any of the above stated licenses, then you would be required to apply and get an eye extension license before you can legally practice in Idaho and in order to qualify for the license having met the basic requirements, you must have completed a program with at least 2,000 hours of classroom time.

Pass a written and practical exam with at least a 75 percent, be at least 16.5 years old; 10th grade education or equivalent and you’ll be ready to start your career! Please be informed that in order to qualify for renewal, you must be licensed 3 of the last 5 years; Hold an active license in a state with similar requirements, or complete additional hours.

You can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

Idaho Bureau of Occupational Licenses, Board of Cosmetology

(208)334-3233

[email protected]

ibol.idaho.gov

14. Illinois

In the state of Illinois, as a licensed Cosmetologist or Esthetician, you would not need another license to be able to work as an eye lash extension practitioner.

Please be informed that if you don’t have any of the above stated licenses, then you would be required to apply and get an eye extension license before you can legally practice in Illinois and in order to qualify for the license having met the basic requirements, you must finish a 1,500-hour cosmetology program and pass the written exam and be at least 18 years old with High school diploma or equivalent

Please be informed that you are expected to renew your license by Sept. 30 of each odd-numbered year and pay a fee pf $25 per year. You can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

Illinois Department of Financial & Professional Regulation – Cosmetology

(217)785-0800

You visit them on ilga.gov to get more information.

15. Indiana

As a licensed Cosmetologist or Esthetician, you are not required to present another license before you can work as a ab eye lash extension professional in Indiana.

But, if you don’t have any of the above stated licenses, then you would be required to apply and get an eye extension license before you can legally practice in Indiana and in order to qualify for the license having met the basic requirements, you must graduate from a 1,500-hour course of study and pass the state exam with a 75% or higher and be at least 18 years old with 10th grade education or equivalent.

Please be informed that you would have to renew your license every 4 years by August 1; $40 fee. You can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

Indiana Professional Licensing Agency – State Board of Cosmetology & Barber Examiners

(317) 234-3031

[email protected]

pla.in.gov

16. Iowa

In the state of Iowa, if you already possess a license as a Cosmetologist or Esthetician, if you are going to be working in licensed salon, then you would not need to get an eye lash extension license before you can work legally in the state.

If you don’t have any of the above stated licenses, then you would be required to apply and get an eye extension license before you can legally practice in Iowa and in order to qualify for the license having met the basic requirements, you must have completed 2,100 classroom hours of a board-approved program. Pass the National Interstate Cosmetology exam with a 75% or higher and be at least 16 years old; 10th grade education or equivalent

Please be informed that you are expected to renew your license by Dec. 31 of even-numbered years; and pay a fee of $60. If you are done with your applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

Iowa Board of Cosmetology Arts & Sciences

(515) 281-4416

law.justia.com

17. Kansas

As a licensed Cosmetologist or Esthetician, you are not required to present another license before you can work as an eye lash extension professional in Kansas. But, if you don’t have any of the above stated licenses, then you would be required to apply and get an eye extension license before you can legally practice in Kansas and in order to qualify for the license having met the basic requirements, you must complete a 1,500-hour course of study, then pass the Kansas Board Exam with a 75% or higher.

There are two parts to the exam, both written and practical. In addition, you must be at least 17 years old; High school diploma or equivalent. You are expected to renew your license every 2 years in the month of original licensure and you are to pay $60 fee. You can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

Kansas Board of Cosmetology

(785) 296-3155

[email protected]

accesskansas.org

18. Kentucky

In the state of Kentucky, if you already possess a license as a Cosmetologist or Esthetician, if you are going to be working in licensed salon, then you would not need to get an eye lash extension license before you can work legally in the state.

Please be informed that if you don’t have any of the above stated licenses, then you would be required to apply and get an eye extension license before you can legally practice in Kentucky and in order to qualify for the license having met the basic requirements, you must finish a board-certified course of at least 1,800 hours. Pass the apprentice practical and written exam.

Work for six months under a licensed cosmetologist before taking the cosmetology exam. Take the exam, be at least 17 years old; 12th grade education and you’re fully licensed!. Please be informed that you are going to be renewing your license every year between July 1-31; for a fee of $20. You can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

Kentucky Board of Hairdressers and Cosmetologists

(502) 564-4262

http://www.kbhc.ky.gov/contact.htm

lrc.ky.gov

19. Louisiana

As a licensed Cosmetologist or Esthetician, you are not required to present another license before you can work as an eye lash extension professional in Louisiana. But, if you don’t have any of the above stated licenses, then you would be required to apply and get an eye extension license before you can legally practice in Louisiana and in order to qualify for the license having met the basic requirements, you must get a 1,500-hour course from a board-certified school under your belt; then you’ll have three tests to tackle.

Pass the written and practical National Interstate Cosmetology tests, then get a 75% or higher on the Louisiana State Cosmetology exam, which focuses on state laws relating to your work. In addition, you must be at least 16 years old; 10th grade education. Please be informed that you will be expected to renew your license every year by licensee’s birthday; and you will pay $25 fee.

Once you have completed the applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

Louisiana Board of Cosmetology

(866)257-7901

[email protected]

lsbc.louisiana.gov

20. Maine

In the state of Main, if you already have a license as a Cosmetologist or Aesthetician, you are not required to present any other license before you can legally practice as an eye extension professional in the state. Please note, if you don’t have any of the above stated licenses, then you would be required to apply and get an eye extension license before you can legally practice in Maine and in order to qualify for the license having met the basic requirements, you must get a 1,500-hour cosmetology program, and it needs to take at least nine months to complete.

Alternatively, you can do 2,500 hours of an apprenticeship under a licensed cosmetologist. Pass the written and practical portions of the National Interstate Cosmetology exam, and you must be at least 17 years old with 10th grade education. Please be informed that you will renew your license every year in October at a $50 fee. If you are done with your applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

Maine Office of Professional & Occupational Regulation – Barbering & Cosmetology Licensing

(207) 624-8579

[email protected]

you can also visit mainelegislature.org for more information.

21. Maryland

In the state of Maryland, there are no unique license requirements when applying for eye extension license, but you are expected to meet the basic requirements and also the requirements for securing a cosmetology license in the state because it is the cosmetology board that regulates the licensing for eye extension practitioners.

So, when you complete the applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

Maryland Board of Cosmetologists

(410) 230-6320

[email protected]

dlslibrary.state.md.us

22. Massachusetts

As a licensed Cosmetologist or Esthetician, you are not required to present another license before you can work as an eye lash extension professional in Massachusetts. But, if you don’t have any of the above stated licenses, then you would be required to apply and get an eye extension license before you can legally practice in Massachusetts and in order to qualify for the license having met the basic requirements, you must complete a course of at least 1,000 hours of instruction, you can get licensed as a Type 2 Operator.

This level allows you to work under a licensed cosmetologist. You must pass a written and a practical exam to obtain this certification. To work unsupervised, you must work for two years under a licensed cosmetologist. You don’t have to take any more tests, and your supervisor just has to sign an affidavit confirming you worked with them for two years. In addition, you must be at least 17 years old and with 10th grade education

Please be informed that you will renew your license every 2 years by licensee’s birthday at a fee of $68.

If you are done with your applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

Board of Registration of Cosmetologists

(617)727-3074

[email protected]

malegislature.gov

23. Michigan

In the state of Michigan, if you already have a license as a Cosmetologist or Aesthetician, you are not required to present any other license before you can legally practice as an eye extension professional in the state.

Please note, if you don’t have any of the above stated licenses, then you would be required to apply and get an eye extension license before you can legally practice in Michigan and in order to qualify for the license having met the basic requirements, you must complete a formal 1,500-hour course of study, or do a two-year apprenticeship that is 1,920 hours long and no more than 40 hours a week. With this option, the person you study under must have at least three years experience.

When you’re done, pass the Michigan Cosmetology Exam with at least a 75% on the practical portion and a 70% on the written part. So also, you must be at least 17 years old and with 9th grade education. Please be informed that you will have to renew your license every 2 years by the end of August at a fee of $48. If you have completed your applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

Michigan Department of Licensing & Regulatory Affairs – Cosmetology Department

(517)373-1820

[email protected]

legislature.mi.gov

24. Minnesota

In the state of Minnesota, there are no unique license requirements when applying for eye extension license, but you are expected to meet the basic requirements and also the requirements for securing a cosmetology license in the state because it is the cosmetology board that regulates the licensing for eye extension practitioners.

So, when you complete the applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

Minnesota Board of Cosmetologist Examiners

(651)201-2742

[email protected]

25. Mississippi

As a licensed Cosmetologist or Esthetician, you are not required to present another license before you can work as an eye lash extension professional in Mississippi. But, if you don’t have any of the above stated licenses, then you would be required to get an eye extension license before you can legally practice in Mississippi and in order to qualify for the license having met the basic requirements, you must complete a 12th-grade education with GED or high-school diploma, plus 1,500 hours of a formal cosmetology program.

Pass a theory test and a practical exam and you must be at least 17 years old; Must be able to read, write and speak English; High school education or equivalent. Please be informed that you are expected to renew your license every 2 years at a fee of $50. If you have completed your applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology

(601) 359-1820

[email protected]

msbc.state.ms.us

26. Missouri

Missouri is one of the few states that only gives waiver to licensed Cosmetologist to practice as eye lash extension fixers without any other additional license. Please be informed that if you are not a licensed Cosmetologist, then you would be required to apply and get an eye extension license, and in order to qualify for the license having met the basic requirements, you must get 1,500 hours of training at one of these schools, or complete a 3,000-hour apprenticeship under a licensed cosmetologist.

Pass a practical exam and a theory test with a 75% or higher to get your license. So also, you must be at least 17 years old; 10th grade education or equivalent. Please note that you are expected to renew your license by Sept. 30 of odd-numbered years and at a fee of $30. If you have completed your applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

Missouri Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners

(866)762-9432

[email protected]

pr.mo.gov

27. Montana

In Montana, as a licensed Cosmetologist or Esthetician, you are not required to present another license before you can work as an eye lash extension professional in the state. But, if you don’t have any of the above stated licenses, then you would be required to apply and get an eye extension license before you can legally practice in Montana and in order to qualify for the license having met the basic requirements, you must obtain 2,000 hours of training at a board-approved school, then pass a written test and a practical exam.

In addition, you must be at least 18 years old and with High school education or GED. Please be informed that you will be renewing your license biennially by March 1 and at a fee of $80. If you are done with your applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

Montana Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists

(406) 841-2202

[email protected]

leg.mt.gov

28. Nebraska

As a licensed Cosmetologist or Esthetician, you are not required to present another license before you can work as an eye lash extension professional in Nebraska. If you don’t have any of the above stated licenses, then you would be required to apply and get an eye extension license before you can legally practice in Nebraska and in order to qualify for the license having met the basic requirements, you must complete a board-approved, 2,100-hour training program.

Pass the National Interstate Cosmetology written exam and an exam that covers Nebraska state laws. Get 8 hours of continuing education credit every 2 years to keep your license. So also, you must be at least 17 years old; High school education or equivalent; Basic first aid class. Please note that you will be renewing your license biennially by Dec. 31 of even-numbered years and a fee of $118.

You can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

Nebraska Department of Health & Human Services – Cosmetology

(402) 471-2117

[email protected]

You can also visit dhhs.ne.gov for more information

29. Nevada

In the state of Nevada, if you already have a license as a Cosmetologist or Aesthetician, you are not required to present any other license before you can legally practice as an eye extension professional in the state.

If you don’t have any of the above stated licenses, then you would be required to apply and get an eye extension license before you can legally practice in Nevada and in order to qualify for the license, you must complete 1,800-hour course at a board-approved school, complete 3,600 hours of an apprenticeship under a licensed practitioner, or show proof of four years of experience as a cosmetologist in another state.

Either way, you’ll have to pass the National Interstate Cosmetology written and practical exams, plus a Nevada state exam. Complete four hours of continuing education in infection control to keep your license. In addition to that, you must be at least 18 years old; 10th grade education or equivalent. Please be informed that you are expected to renew your license by June 30, in every odd-numbered year and with a fee of $70.

If you have completed your applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

Nevada State Board of Cosmetology

(702) 486-6542

[email protected]

You can also visit leg.state.nv.us for more information.

30. New Hampshire

As a licensed Cosmetologist or Esthetician, you are not required to present another license before you can work as an eye lash extension professional in New Hampshire.

Please note that if you don’t have any of the above stated licenses, then you would be required to apply and get an eye extension license before you can legally practice in New Hampshire and in order to qualify for the license having met the basic requirements, you must complete 1,500 hours of training at a board-approved school, or 3,000 hours of training over 18 months with a licensed cosmetologist who has at least 2 years of experience. Pass a written and a practical exam and with a High school education or equivalent.

The practice is that you would have to renew your license after every 2 years by the last day of the licensee’s birthday month and at a fee of $40. If you have completed your applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

New Hampshire Board of Barbering, Cosmetology & Esthetics

(603) 271-3608

gencourt.state.nh.us

31. New Jersey

As a licensed Cosmetologist (must be working in a salon) or if you own a Medical license under a doctor, then you are not required to present any further license to be able to legally work as a professional eye lash extension fixer in the state of New Jersey.

But, if you don’t have any of the above stated licenses, then you would be required to apply and get an eye extension license before you can legally practice in New Jersey and in order to qualify for the license having met the basic requirements, you must finish a 1,200-hour cosmetology program. After 6 months, you can get a student permit and start working while you’re still in school! Pass a written and a practical exam with a 75% to get your license.

In addition to that, you must be at least 17 years old; High school diploma or equivalent. Please informed that you are expected to renew your license by Sept. 30 of even-numbered years and at a fee of $60. If you have completed your applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

New Jersey State Board of Cosmetology and Hairstyling

(973) 504-6400

[email protected]

32. New Mexico

New Mexico is one of the few states that only gives waiver to licensed Esthetician to practice as eye lash extension fixers without any other additional license. Please be informed that if you are not a licensed Esthetician, then you would be required to apply and get an eye extension license before you can legally practice in New Mexico and in order to qualify for the license having met the basic requirements, you must complete a 1,600-hour program at one of these board-approved schools.

Pass the national practical and written exams, plus the state law exam, with a 75% or higher. So also, you must be at least 17 years old; 10th grade education. Please note that you are expected to renew your license every 2 years in licensee’s birthday month and at a fee of $50. If you have completed your applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

New Mexico Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists

(505) 476-4622

[email protected]

nmcpr.state.nm.us

33. New York

If you are a licensed Cosmetologist or Esthetician, you are not required to present another license before you can work as an eye lash extension professional in New York.

Please note that if you don’t have any of the above stated licenses, then you would be required to apply and get an eye extension license before you can legally practice in New York and in order to qualify for the license having met the basic requirements, you must Graduate from a course of at least 1,000 hours or show proof of 5 years of certified experience as a cosmetologist in another state. Pass the written and practical exams with a 70% or higher to get your license.

In addition, you must be at least 17 years old. Please be informed that you would have to renew your license every 4 years and at a fee of $40. If you have completed your applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

New York Department of State Division of Licensing Services – Cosmetology

(518) 474-4429

[email protected]

You can also visit dos.ny.gov for more information.

34. North Carolina

In the state of North Carolina, if you already have a license as a Cosmetologist or Esthetician, you are not required to present any other license before you can legally practice as an eye extension professional in the state.

If you don’t have any of the above stated licenses, then you would be required to apply and get an eye extension license before you can legally practice in North Carolina and in order to qualify for the license having met the basic requirements, you must complete 1,500 hours of training at a cosmetic art school, then pass the written and practical exams with a 75% or higher.

You’ll need 8 hours of continuing education credit to renew your license. Please be informed that you would have to renew your license every 3 years by Oct. 1 and at a fee of $23. If you have completed your applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

North Carolina Board of Cosmetic Art Examiners

(919) 733-4117

[email protected]

ncga.state.nc.us

35. North Dakota

In the state of North Dakota, if you already have a license as a Cosmetologist or Esthetician, you are not required to present any other license before you can legally practice as an eye extension professional in the state.

If you don’t have any of the above stated licenses, then you would be required to apply and get an eye extension license before you can legally practice in North Dakota and in order to qualify for the license having met the basic requirements, you must finish a 1,800-hour training course at an approved cosmetology school, then pass the three required exams with a 75% or higher to receive your license.

Take a look at their State Board website. So also, you must have a High school diploma. Please be informed that you would have to renew your license every year by Dec. 31 and a fee of $15. To qualify for reciprocity, you must provide a letter of certification from current state board and a copy of the state’s licensing requirements; Must take the North Dakota Laws, Rules & Regulations exam.

If you have completed your applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

North Dakota State Board of Cosmetology

(701) 224-9800

[email protected]

legis.nd.gov

36. Ohio

If you are a licensed Cosmetologist or Esthetician, you are not required to present another license before you can work as an eye lash extension professional in Ohio.

Please note that if you don’t have any of the above stated licenses, then you would be required to get an eye extension license before you can legally practice in Ohio and in order to qualify for the license having met the basic requirements, you must complete 1,200 hours of cosmetology school. Pass the practical and theory tests, then take 8 hours of continuing education credit every 2 years to keep your license. In addition, you must be at least 16 years old and with 10th grade education

Please be reminded that you will need to renew your license by Jan. 31 of every odd-numbered year and with a fee of $45. Please be informed that Ohio does not offer reciprocity. Once you complete your applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

Ohio State Board of Cosmetology

(614) 466-3834

[email protected]

You can also visit codes.ohio.gov for more information.

37. Oklahoma

In the state of Oklahoma, if you already possess a license as a Cosmetologist or Esthetician or as Facialist, or you have medical license, or if you are going to be working in licensed salon, then you would not need to apply and get an eye lash extension license before you can work legally in the state.

Please be informed that if you don’t have any of the above stated licenses, then you would be required to apply and get an eye extension license before you can legally practice in Oklahoma and in order to qualify for the license having met the basic requirements, you must complete a 1,500-hour cosmetology course, then passing the state written and practical exam to get your license and you must be at least 16 years old; 8th grade education.

It is important to state that you would need to renew your license annually, on the last day of the licensee’s birthday month and with a fee of $25. Once you complete your applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

Oklahoma State Board of Cosmetology & Barbering

(405) 521-2441

[email protected]

You can visit ok.gov for more information.

38. Oregon

Oregon is one of the few states that only gives waiver to licensed Esthetician to practice as eye lash extension fixers without any other additional license.

Please be informed that if you are not a licensed Esthetician, then you would be required to apply and get an eye extension license before you can legally practice in Oregon and in order to qualify for the license having met the basic requirements, you must finish 1,450 hours of training at a cosmetology school, then pass the written exam and the state law exam to start your career as a cosmetologist.

Please be informed that you would have to renew your license every 2 years by the last day of the month of issuance and at a fee of $40. If you have completed your applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

Oregon Health Licensing Agency – Board of Cosmetology

(503) 378-8667

[email protected]

oregonlegislature.gov

39. Pennsylvania

If you are a licensed Cosmetologist or Esthetician, you are not required to present another license before you can work as an eye lash extension professional in Pennsylvania.

Please note that if you don’t have any of the above stated licenses, then you would be required to apply and get an eye extension license before you can legally practice in Pennsylvania and in order to qualify for the license having met the basic requirements, you must complete 1,250 hours of beauty school or do a 2,000-hour apprenticeship under a licensed cosmetologist with 5 years of experience and two employees.

Pass the practical and theory exams. In addition, you must be at least 16 years old; 10th grade education or equivalent. Please be informed that you are expected to renew every 2 years, in even/odd-numbered years, by Jan. 31 and at a fee of $67. If you have completed your applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

Pennsylvania State Board of Cosmetology

(717) 783-7130

[email protected]

dos.state.pa.us

40. Rhode Island

If you are a licensed Cosmetologist or Esthetician, you are not required to present another license before you can work as an eye lash extension professional in Rhode Island. Please note that if you don’t have any of the above stated licenses, then you would be required to get an eye extension license before you can legally practice in Rhode Island and in order to qualify for the license having met the basic requirements, you must complete a 1,500-hour program of study. You can do a work-study program after 1,000 hours.

Pass the written and practical exams and you’ll be a licensed cosmetologist. In addition, you must be at least 18 years old; of good moral character; U.S. citizen / legal entry and with High school education or equivalent. Please be informed that you would have to renew your license every 2 years by Sept. 30, on an odd-even year basis and at a fee of $67. If you have completed your applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

State of Rhode Island Department of Health – Board of Barbering & Hairdressing

(401) 222-2828

[email protected]

health.ri.gov

41. South Carolina

In the state of South Carolina, if you already have a license as a Cosmetologist or Esthetician, you are not required to present any other license before you can legally practice as an eye extension professional in the state. If you don’t have any of the above stated licenses, then you would be required to apply and get an eye extension license before you can legally practice in South Carolina and in order to qualify for the license having met the basic requirements, you must finish a 1,500-hour training program, then pass the theory and practical exams.

You must complete 12 hours of continuing education every year to maintain your license. So also, you must be at least 16 years old; 10th grade education or equivalent. Please be informed that you would have to renew your license every 2 years by March 10 and at a fee of $52. If you have completed your applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

South Carolina Board of Cosmetology

(803) 896-4588

[email protected]

You can visit scstatehouse.gov for more information.

42. South Dakota

South Dakota is amongst the states that allow licensed Cosmetologist, Esthetician, or someone who performs in a licensed salon to work as a professional eye lash extension fixer with a license.

But if you don’t have any of the above stated licenses, then you would be required to apply and get an eye extension license before you can legally practice in South Dakota and in order to qualify for the license having met the basic requirements, you must complete a 2,100-hour curriculum or an apprenticeship where you work 40 hours a week for 18 months.

Pass a theory exam, a practical exam, and a state law test. So also, you must be at least 18 years old and with a High school diploma or GED. Please note that you would have to renew your license on or before the licensee’s birth date every year and at a fee of $20. If you have completed your applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

South Dakota Cosmetology Commission

(605) 773-6193

[email protected]

legis.sd.gov

43. Tennessee

In the state of Tennessee, if you already have a license as a Cosmetologist or Aesthetician, you are not required to present any other license before you can legally practice as an eye extension professional in the state.

Please note that, if you don’t have any of the above stated licenses, then you would be required to apply and get an eye extension license before you can legally practice in Tennessee and in order to qualify for the license having met the basic requirements, you must attend a board-approved beauty school with 1,500 hours of training.

Pass the practical and theory exams and you must be at least 16 years old and with a 10th grade education. It is important to point that you would need to renew your license every 2 years before license expiration date and at a fee of $50. If you have completed your applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents

State Board

Tennessee Board of Cosmetology & Barber Examiners

(615) 741-2515

[email protected]

lexisnexis.com

44. Texas

Texas happens to be the only state that before you can work as an Eyelash extension specialist, you must possess a license or else you will be working illegally in the state.

In order to apply for an eyelash extension license you should call (512)463-6599 or contact [email protected] or visit tdlr.texas.gov for further directives. Please note that you are expected to meet the basic requirements as stated above.

45. Utah

Utah is one of the few states that only gives waiver to licensed Esthetician (master or basic) to practice as eye lash extension fixers without any other additional license. Please be informed that if you are not a licensed Esthetician, then you would be required to apply and get an eye extension license before you can legally practice in Utah and in order to qualify for the license having met the basic requirements, you must finish a board-certified training program with at least 1,600 hours.

Pass a theory and practical exam to obtain your license and begin work as a cosmetologist. In addition, you must be at least 17 years old. Please be informed that you would need to renew your license by Sept. 30 of odd-numbered years and at a fee of $52. To apply for reciprocity, you must submit verification of current license; Must meet educational or experience requirements and exam requirements

If you have completed your applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

Utah Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing – Cosmetology & Barbering

(801) 530-6628

[email protected]

46. Vermont

Vermont is amongst the states that allow licensed Cosmetologist or Esthetician to work as a professional eye lash extension fixer with a license.

But if you don’t have any of the above stated licenses, then you would be required to apply and get an eye extension license before you can legally practice in South Vermont and in order to qualify for the license having met the basic requirements, you must be at least 18 years old and have a GED, you can apply to a 1,500-hour program of study or do a 24-month apprenticeship with a licensed cosmetologist who worked in Vermont for at least the past 5 years.

Pass the written, practical, and state law exams to get your license. Please note that you would need to renew your license by Nov. 30 of odd-numbered years and a fee of $130. If you have completed your applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

Vermont Board of Barbers & Cosmetologists

(802) 828-1134

[email protected]

47. Virginia

Virginia is one of the few states that only gives waiver to licensed Esthetician to practice as eye lash extension fixers without any other additional license.

Please be informed that if you are not a licensed Esthetician, then you would be required to get an eye extension license before you can legally practice in Virginia and in order to qualify for the license having met the basic requirements, you must complete 1,500 hours of study at a cosmetology school or finishing 3,000 hours of training at an apprenticeship. Pass the written and practical exams.

Please be informed that you are expected to renew every 2 years by date of original licensure and at a fee of $40. If you have completed your applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

Virginia Board of Barbers and Cosmetology

(804) 367-8590

[email protected]

48. Washington

In the state of Washington, if you already have a license as a Cosmetologist or Esthetician, you are not required to present any other license before you can legally practice as an eye extension professional in the state. Please note that, if you don’t have any of the above stated licenses, then you would be required to apply and get an eye extension license, and in order to qualify for the license having met the basic requirements, you must finish a 1,600-hour cosmetology course, or do a 2,000-hour apprenticeship approved by the state.

Pass a written and a practical exam to get your license. In addition, you must be at least 17 years old. Please be reminded that you would have to renew your license every 2 years and at a fee of $55. If you have completed your applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

Washington State Department of Licensing-Cosmetologists

(360) 664-6626

[email protected]

app.leg.wa.gov

49. West Virginia

As a licensed Cosmetologists or Esthetician who want to practice as a professional eyelash extension specialist in West Virginia, you would not need any other license to practice in the state. But if you don’t have any of the above stated licenses, then you would be required to get an eye extension licenseand in order to qualify for the license having met the basic requirements, you must attend an approved cosmetology college with at least 1,800 hours of instruction.

Pass a written and practical exam to g, et your license. You’ll need at least four hours of continuing education credit each year. So also, you must be at least 18 years old; High school education; Of good moral character. Please be informed that you would have to renew your license annually and at a fee of $35.

If you have completed your applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

West Virginia State Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists

(304) 558-2924

[email protected]

wvbbc.com

50. Wisconsin

In the state of Wisconsin, there are no unique license requirements when applying for eye extension license, but you are expected to meet the basic requirements and also the requirements for securing a cosmetology license in the state because it is the cosmetology board that regulates the licensing for eye extension practitioners.

So, when you complete the applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

Wisconsin Cosmetology Examining Board

(877)617-1565

[email protected]

wisconsin.gov

51. Wyoming

In the state of Wyoming, if you already have a license as a Cosmetologist or Esthetician, you are not required to present any other license before you can legally practice as an eye extension professional in the state. If you don’t have any of the above stated licenses, then you would be required to apply and get an eye extension license before you can legally practice in Wyoming and in order to qualify for the license having met the basic requirements, you must complete a 10.5-month program with at least 2,000 hours of training.

Pass a written and a practical exam, and you’ll be on your way to starting your career. So also, you must be at least 16 years old and with 10th grade education. Please note that your first renewal occurs after one year of acquisition; then, renew every 2 years in the licensee’s birthday month and with a fee of $96. If you have completed your applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

Wyoming Board of Cosmetology

(307) 777-3534

[email protected]

You can also visit cosmetology.wy.gov for further directives.

Ajaero Tony Martins