Do you want to start a HVAC business in Alaska and need a HVAC contractor license? If YES, here is guide on how to get a HVAC technician license in Alaska.
It is mandatory for HVAC technicians that want to practice in the United States of America to acquire the needed license before they can be permitted to operate. There are steps to follow if you want to secure your HVAC business license in the state of Alaska;
Getting Your HVAC Contractor License in Alaska
Alaska is also one of the states that makes it mandatory for any one who wants to work as a HVAC technician or run a HVAC company to apply and obtain a HVAC license. In order to achieve this, you need a Mechanical Administrator license, or a Mechanical Administrator must work for you.
Interestingly, in Alaska, there are several types of Mechanical Administrator licenses available that are HVAC-related and the license you hold will be important in determining the mechanical contracting work you can perform. They are;
- Heating, Cooling and Process Piping (HCPP) – The requirement is a journeyman experience or management experience in four of the previous six years; or a degree in mechanical engineering plus one year as a journeyman pipefitter or a field engineer; or professional mechanical engineer registration plus mechanical contracting management experience for one of the previous three years.
- Mechanical Systems Temperature Control
- Residential HVAC – The requirement is a journeyman experience for two of the previous four years.
- Residential Plumbing and Hydronic Heating – The requirement is a journeyman experience for two of the previous four years.
- Unlimited HVAC/ Sheet Metal – The requirement is a journeyman experience for four of the previous six years; or a degree in mechanical engineering plus journeyman experience or field engineering experience for one of the previous three years; or professional mechanical engineering registration plus mechanical contracting management experience for one of the previous three years.
- Unlimited Refrigeration – The requirement is a journeyman experience for two of the previous four years; or proof of graduation from an accredited course or trade school.
Please note that you will be required to take and pass a multiple-choice exam which costs $125. Once you hold a license (cost: $250), you will need to register as a Mechanical Contractor (cost: $50), which includes a business license, a $10,000 surety bond, proof of liability insurance and proof of worker’s compensation insurance.
General HVAC Licensing Requirements in USA
In the United States of America, before you can practice as a heating, ventilation and air conditioning (HVAC) technician, you are required by law to apply and obtain licensing, and it is mandatory in some states.
- The federal Environmental Protection Agency requires certification of HVAC technicians who handle refrigerants.
- Any HVAC technician who works with refrigerants must pass a written exam in one or more of three areas: small appliances, high-pressure systems and low-pressure systems.
- Employers often want to see professional credentials even when there is no state mandate. For this reason, it’s wise to obtain certification from a recognized industry or trade organization. Certification is awarded for passing a written exam.
- Eligibility to take these exams involves one to two years of work experience and might also include completing formal coursework.
- Certification is also available for those who take courses in specialized areas like handling refrigerants.
3 Ways You Can Become a Certified HVAC Technician in Alaska
- On-the-job Training
One of the routes that you can follow in the bid to qualify for a HVAC business license in the United States of America is on – the – job training. Once you are able to acquire the required training and experience in the industry, you can then go ahead to apply and obtain a HVAC license.
- Attend Technical College
Another option that you can follow in order to qualify for a HVAC license is to complete a HVAC technician training program offered by an accredited technical college, trade school or community college. These programs take anywhere from six months to two years.
Depending on the program, graduates earn a certificate or an associate degree. Coursework includes safety procedures, the operation of HVAC equipment and related skills like blueprint reading and installation of electrical wiring and control devices.
- Become an Apprentice
Apprenticeship programs take three to five years. Students work full time, putting in 2,000 hours a year. Apprentices also complete 144 hours of classwork per year.
Industry and union organizations sponsor apprenticeship programs, often in cooperation with local community colleges or technical schools. Prospective apprentices must be 18 and above and have a high school diploma or general equivalency diploma. They also must pass a drug screening and basic math test and have a valid driver’s license.
- 10 Steps on How to Get Financing for your RV Park Business - April 1, 2020
- 10 Steps on How to Change from Sole Proprietor to LLC in USA - March 31, 2020
- 20 Smart Tips on How to Sell Homemade Soap Online - March 31, 2020