Do you want to start a medical marijuana dispensary? If YES, here are state requirements to get a cannabis dispensary license in USA and how to go about it.
Marijuana is steadily gaining grounds in the United States, even though it still remains illegal at the federal level. States have now started making laws that are to govern the marijuana industry.
These laws determine who may cultivate or sell marijuana and under what conditions they may do so. Apart from medical and research purposes, most states have made the marijuana dispensary business legal.
Because of that, lots of entrepreneurs are now thinking of owning marijuana dispensaries. To own and run a marijuana dispensary in the united states, you must have to get a license.
The type of licensing and documentation your marijuana business requires will depend on both the location of your operation and the sort of business you are conducting. This is why you need to do a whole lot of research before you start off.
If you are looking for ways to get a marijuana dispensary license in the United States, we have listed out states that have legalized marijuana dispensaries.
We also included where you can get these licenses and some of the guidelines you need to observe when making your application.
State Requirements to Get a Marijuana Dispensary License
It has been confirmed that Alaska is one of the states in the US that allow the use of marijuana, but only for those aged 21 and above.
This state licenses businesses is allowed to cultivate, manufacture and sell Marijuana. If you want to open a marijuana dispensary in Alaska, you are to apply for the license, and this can be done online at the Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development ALCOHOL & MARIJUANA CONTROL OFFICE.
Fingerprints must be submitted with each application. Fingerprint cards cannot be submitted electronically to AMCO but physically.
Applicants must use an approved agency to obtain the said fingerprints. Marijuana cultivation facilities, product manufacturing facilities, testing facilities, retail stores can also get their permits here.
In Arizona, registered patients may possess and use medical marijuana. State licensed businesses may grow, process, transport, and dispense medical marijuana.
All application for marijuana dispensary license is to be done online at the Arizona Department of Health Services. The site also lists requirements for the application. In addition, Arizona requires all cultivation facilities to be licensed as dispensaries.
The Department will first determine whether there is a county in which a dispensary registration certificate does not exist. If there is one, then it would be easier to get a license there. All information needed in that regards can be found on the website.
According to dispensary permits in Arkansas, all individuals with a legal prescription may possess and use medical marijuana.
State licensed businesses may grow, process, transport, and dispense medical marijuana. The Arkansas Medical Marijuana Commission is in charge of the state’s medical marijuana program. The commission had set up stict guidelines regarding getting a dispensary license, and they include;
- No more than 32 dispensary licenses shall be awarded within the “8 dispensary zones”
- Dispensary location may not be any less than 1,500 feet from a school, church or daycare center.
- No more than 1 license shall be issued to any entity.
- The application fee for dispensary licenses is set at $7,500 (half the application fee will be refunded if the license is not granted).
- There is a two-tier licensing scheme for dispensaries:
- One tier will be comprised of those dispensaries that intend to grow marijuana – a dispensary may opt to grow fifty (50) mature marijuana plants.
- A second tier will be comprised of those dispensaries that do not intend to grow marijuana.
- The applicant will be required to declare their intent to grow or not grow at the time the application is submitted.
- Within 7 days of receiving written notice of selection from the commission, the selected applicant shall submit a license fee of $15,000.00 in cash or certified funds as well as a performance bond in the amount of $100,000.00.
In California, temporary marijuana dispensary licenses are issued by the Bureau of Cannabis Control, CDFA’s Cannabis Cultivation Licensing, and CDPH’s Manufactured Cannabis Safety Branch.
Cultivators, manufacturers, retailers, distributors, microbusinesses, testing laboratories, and event organizers can apply to these bureaus for their licenses.
Applications for annual licenses will be accepted through an online licensing system – the Manufactured Cannabis Licensing System (MCLS).
This application will require information on the business, owners and financial interest holders, and operating premises, as well as descriptions of procedures for waste disposal, inventory and quality control, transportation and security. More information can be gotten at the California cannabis portal.
If you intend to own a Colorado Retail Marijuana Business you should also visit the Colorado Marijuana Business Owners and Investors Page. Licenses for both medical and recreational marijuana are available. Guideline for getting a retail license in Colorado include that applicants;
- Must apply to the state for a retail license before selling marijuana
- Must confirm that the Local Authority where you plan to operate allows marijuana retail stores to operate within their jurisdiction
- Applicants must to be a resident of the state of Colorado for at least 2 years prior to applying for a license
- Number of retail store licenses are limited by local government
- Applicant must submit a $4,500 nonrefundable application fee
In Connecticut, all qualified patients with a legal prescription may be in possession of marijuana, and state licensed businesses may grow, process, transport, and dispense marijuana.
The Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection is responsible for the state’s Medical Marijuana Program, and all applications are made there.
A dispensary license is required to acquire, possess, distribute and dispense marijuana, or marijuana derivatives in the form provided by licensed producers, to qualified patients and caregivers.
During application, there is a non-refundable application fee of $1,000 due at submission of the application and a non-refundable registration fee of $5,000.
All marijuana businesses must be at least 1,000 feet from places used primarily for religious worship, public or private school, convent, charitable institution, whether supported by private or public funds, hospital or veterans’ home or any camp or military establishment.
Documentations that you will need to provide while making your application include;
- Personal Information
- Most Recent Employment Information
- Dispensary Facility Information
- Licenses, Permits and Registrations
- Professional History
- Criminal Actions
- Photo Identifications (passport-sized photograph and copy of a valid government- issued ID)
Cost of license
- Initial application fee: $1,000 [nonrefundable]
- RegistrationÂ fee: $5,000 [nonrefundable]
- Renewal fee: $5,000 [nonrefundable]
- License and renewal fees: $100 each
- Dispensary technician and dispensary personnel registration / renewal: $50
- Dispensary facility backer registration / renewal: $100
- Dispensary name change application: $100
- Change of dispensary facility manager: $50
- Location change or expansion application: $1,000 [plus $1,500 if approved]
- Physical, non-cosmetic facility alteration [other than expansion] application: $500Â
Applications and supporting material must be hand-delivered in accordance with the instructions in the Request for Applications, together with a $25,000 application fee.
In Delaware, all individuals with a legal prescription may possess and use medical marijuana. State licensed businesses may grow, process, transport, and dispense medical marijuana.
The Department of Health is responsible for awarding the said license through the medical marijuana program. The state only gives licenses to compassion centers, and it has strict guidelines for opening these centers. They include;
- A compassion center shall be operated on a not-for-profit basis.
- A compassion center shall not be located within 1,000 feet of the property line of a preexisting public or private school.
- New applicants for a Compassion Center License shall only be accepted during an open application period announced by the Department.
- A non-refundable application fee, made payable to the Division of Public Health, Medical Marijuana Program, in the amount of $5,000will be required at the time of application.
Currently, there is one compassion center, and another opening soon.
Licensed dispensing organizations are authorized to cultivate process and dispense medical marijuana. These are the only businesses in Florida authorized to dispense medical marijuana to qualified patients and legal representatives.
The Office of Medical Marijuana Use (a division of the Florida Department of Health) is responsible for writing and implementing the department’s rules and licensing businesses to dispense, process, and cultivate medical marijuana. The Office is not currently accepting applications for Medical Marijuana Treatment Centers.
In Hawaii, all individuals with a legal prescription may possess and use medical marijuana. State licensed businesses may grow, process, transport, and dispense medical marijuana. The Hawaii Department of Health, Medical Cannabis Dispensary Program is responsible for issuing licenses.
The dispensary license guidelines for Hawaii are thus;
- Non-refundable application fee of $5,000.
- An application has to indicate that the applicants have resources in the amount of $1,000,000, plus a minimum of $100,000 for each retail dispensing location the applicant would like to operate. A dispensary licensee may operate up to two retail dispensing locations. If an applicant intends to operate two retail dispensing locations, the total money an applicant must have in reserve at the time of application $1,200,000.
- Applicants may apply for more than one license, but can only be issued one license. If an applicant qualifies for more than one license, the applicant will have to choose the county in which they wish to operate a dispensary.
In Illinois, all individuals with a legal prescription may possess and use medical marijuana. State licensed businesses may grow, process, transport, and dispense medical marijuana.
Illinois’ Department of Financial and Professional Regulation is responsible for issuing licenses for dispensaries. They are not giving out any licenses currently.
In Iowa, qualified patients may use, possess, and access low-THC cannabis oil. Production, delivery, transportation, and dispensing of cannabidiol are allowed by authorized license holders.
The Iowa Department of Public Health is authorized to select and license up five medical cannabidiol dispensaries in Iowa.
The dispensaries selected through the competitive process will obtain licenses from the department to legally supply medical cannabidiol to patients and primary caregivers with valid Medical Cannabidiol Registration Cards.
The licensed dispensaries must agree to be ready to begin supplying the medical cannabidiol by December 1, 2018. The Act set the non-refundable application fee for a dispensary license at $5,000.
In Louisiana, individuals with a legal recommendation from their doctor may be in possession of medical marijuana, and state licensed pharmacies may dispense medical marijuana. The Louisiana Board of Pharmacy is responsible for giving out licenses.
The state has a number of laws for the opening of dispensaries, and one of their laws limit the number of licenses to be given out to 10. Others include;
- Only existing pharmacies are allowed to dispense medical marijuana
- a single production facility will be responsible for growing, which either or both of the Louisiana State University and Southern University have first right of refusal to collaboratively or separately grow medical marijuana.
- Not more than 10 pharmacies may obtain licenses to dispense marijuana within the state.
In the state, pharmacists can only dispense marijuana grown at state universities. Those wishing to prescribe medical marijuana in Louisiana must pay a $5,000 application fee in addition to a $150 licensing fee to become one of 10 marijuana pharmacists in the state. The $5,000 application fee is non-refundable and is only applied to marijuana pharmacies, not regular drug stores.
In Maine, all individuals may be in possession of Marijuana. The state is currently drafting rules to establish a system for state licensed businesses to grow, process, transport, and dispense marijuana for recreational use. Applicants for a license must be at least 21 years old, citizens of Maine and have a verifiable SSN.
Their businesses must be a partnership, association, company, corporation, LLC or organization. If the applicant is a corporation, all board members must fulfill the above criteria.
Also, drug convictions punishable for 5 years or more might automatically disqualify applicants, provided that 10 years or more have not yet passed since they happened.
The Division of Public Health Systems is responsible for the Medical Use of Marijuana Program. Licenses for dispensaries are provided, but rarely available.
Retail marijuana store license goes as follows: license fee of $250-$2,500; non-refundable application fee of $10-$250
In Maryland, all individuals with a legal prescription may possess and use medical marijuana. The Maryland Medical Cannabis Commission is responsible for developing policies, procedures, and regulations for medical marijuana use, as well as awarding licenses.
It has issued medical cannabis dispensary pre-approvals to 102 companies, with 22 approved and the others in stage 2 of the approval process.
In Massachusetts, individuals age 21+ may possess up to an ounce of marijuana, keep up to 10 ounces of marijuana at home and grow up to six plants. State licensed businesses may cultivate, manufacture, distribute and sell Marijuana.
All information about licensure of Marijuana Establishments through the Cannabis Control Commission, are to be gotten at the Commission’s website.
Applicants are required to pay $1,500 for Application of Intent, and $30,000 per application for Management and Operations Profile
Applications can be made by mail to the Cannabis Control Commission, 101 Federal Street, 13th Floor, Boston, MA 02110. In order to obtain a license in compliance with the state’s Adult Use of Marijuana law passed in 2016, you must apply through the Cannabis Control Commission.
In Michigan, individuals 21 years and older may possess and use marijuana. State licensed businesses may grow, process, transport, and dispense marijuana. Here are some of the requirements for applying for marijuana dispensary license in Michigan;
- An applicant may need to pay a fee to its local city/municipality of up to $5000 and a nonrefundable state application fee of $6000.
- Applicant, if an individual, must have been a resident of the State of Michigan for a continuous 2-year period. This requirement does not apply after June 30, 2018.
- The applicant is ineligible if he or she has been convicted of or released from incarceration for a felony under the laws of this state, any other state, or the United States (federal law) within the past 10 years or has been convicted of a controlled substance-related felony within the past 10 years.
- The applicant is ineligible if he or she has been convicted of a misdemeanor involving a controlled substance, theft, dishonesty, or fraud in any state within the past 5 years.
- Must apply for a provisioning center license with local City AND State before selling marihuana and marihuana products.
The Bureau of Medical Marihuana Regulation is responsible for overseeing medical marihuana and is composed of the Medical Marihuana Program and the Facility Licensing Division.
The Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs is currently accepting applications for growers, processors, transporters, provisioning centers, and safety compliance facilities.
On May 29, 2014, Gov. Mark Dayton signed a bipartisan medical marijuana proposal that was crafted by a House and Senate conference committee, making Minnesota the 22nd state to exempt some of the very sick and their caregivers from penalties for using marijuana with a doctor’s certification.
Licenses for marijuana businesses are not available. The Department of Health selected two companies as registered manufacturers and distributors of marijuana.
The state has 8 dispensaries, which are called “cannabis patient centers.” $20,000 non-refundable application fee is required for the registration.
In Montana, only registered cardholders may possess and use marijuana. The Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services is responsible for the state’s Medical Marijuana Program. Applications for provider, testing laboratory, and dispensary licenses are available periodically.
Proposed registered premises or testing laboratories cannot be within 500 feet of and on the same street as a building used exclusively as a church, synagogue, or other place of worship or as a school or postsecondary school other than a commercially operated school.
Nevada legalized medical marijuana on November 7, 2000, when 65 percent of the populace voted yes on Question 9. The Nevada Department of Taxation is responsible for licensing and regulating retail marijuana businesses, and the state’s medical marijuana program.
All applications are made to them. Until November 2018, only existing medical marijuana establishment certificate holders can apply for a retail marijuana establishment license. Fees you can incur while seeking to open a dispensary in Nevada
- Medical marijuana establishment registration certificate: $5,000 [nonrefundable, applies to all of the below in addition to below fees]
- Dispensary registration certificate: $30,000
- Dispensary certificate renewal: $5,000
- Cultivation facility registration certificate: $3,000
- Cultivation facility certificate renewal: $1,000
- Facility producing edible marijuana or marijuana-infused products — registration certificate: $3,000
- Edible production facility certificate renewal: $1,000
- MM establishment agent registration card: $75
- Agent card renewal: $75
- Independent testing laboratory registration certificate: $5,000
- Independent testing laboratory certificate renewal: $3,000
Some of their guidelines include that applicants must submit a non-refundable application fee of $5,000. They must show evidence of the amount of taxes paid, or other beneficial financial contributions made, to this State or its political subdivisions within the last 5 years by the applicant or the persons who are proposed to be owners, officers or board members of the proposed marijuana establishment.
Again, the retail Marijuana Store must be at least 1,000 feet from a public or private school and 300 feet from a community facility.
Not more than 80 licenses issued in a county with a population that is less than 700,000. Not more than 20 licenses issued in a county with a population that is less than 700,000 but more than 100,000.
Note more than 4 licenses issued in a county with a population that is less than 100,000 but more than 55,000. Not more than 2 licenses issued in a county with a population that is less than 55,000.
20. New Hampshire
In New Hampshire, all individuals with a legal prescription may possess and use medical marijuana. The New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services is responsible for administering the Therapeutic Cannabis Program. The Department has established 4 Alternative Treatment Centers (ATCs) – New Hampshire’s term for dispensaries.
These centers are the only ones required to possess, cultivate, acquire, deliver, manufacture, transfer, supply, sell, dispense, and transport cannabis and other related supplies as well as educational materials to both eligible patients and other alternative treatment centers.
21. New Jersey
In New Jersey, all individuals with a legal prescription may be in possession of Marijuana, and state licensed businesses may grow, process, transport, and dispense marijuana. The New Jersey Department of Health is responsible for the state’s Medicinal Marijuana Program.
The state licenses businesses referred to as “Alternative Treatment Centers” (ATCs) for the production and distribution of medical marijuana. Six ATCs have been licensed. Once the initial six are open, the state will evaluate the program and determine whether or not there is a need for expansion. The state is not actively licensing any medical marijuana businesses at this time though.
22. New Mexico
The New Mexico Department of Health is responsible for overseeing the Medical Cannabis Program. In order to produce, distribute, and dispense medical marijuana, you must be a Licensed Non-Profit Producer (LNPP).
A non-profit producer operates a facility and, at any one time, is limited to a combined total of no greater than 450 mature female plants, seedlings and male plants.
The LNPP application period is closed, and the Department is not currently accepting applications for producing and distributing medical marijuana.
Currently, there are 50 licensed cannabis dispensaries in New Mexico with an estimated number of 50,954 registered patients. At the end of 2016, the size of the cannabis market in New Mexico exceeded 50.6 million dollars.
23. New York
New York’s Department of Health is responsible for its Medical Marijuana Program. Only Registered Organizations can manufacture and dispense medical marijuana. The Department began accepting applications for registration as a registered organization on April 27, 2015.
Each applicant was required to submit two fees with its application: a non-refundable application fee in the amount of $10,000, and a registration fee in the amount of $200,000. The $200,000 registration fee is to be refunded to the applicant only if the applicant is not issued a registration. The Department is not currently accepting applications to become a registered organization.
24. North Dakota
The Division of Medical Marijuana (part of the North Dakota Department of Health) is responsible for the state’s Medical Marijuana Program. Compassion centers are dispensaries or marijuana grower/manufacturer facilities. The application period for compassion centers is currently closed. Some of their application guidelines include that;
- Compassion centers are required to maintain appropriate security, including well-lit entrances, an alarm system that contacts law enforcement, and video surveillance. They may not be located within 1,000 feet of a school, and they will be subject to inspections and other rules.
- There is a non-refundable $5,000 application fee to submit a proposal (application) and a $90,000 certification fee upon issuance of license.
- Compassion center licenses will be granted based on a merit-based application process, which will consider: the suitability of the proposed location; the applicants’ character and expertise in related fields; the proposed centers’ plans, including for record keeping, safety and security, staffing and training, preventing diversion.
- Each staffer of a compassion center must apply for and be granted a registry photo identification card. They must be 21 years of age or older and must not have been convicted of an excluded felony offense or a recent drug.
- Application Fees include a compassion center application fee of $5,000 and a Compassion Center licensing fee of $25,000. The Compassion Center application fee is non refundable
Under new regulations, enacted as of September 8, 2016, Ohio is ready to welcome medical marijuana businesses. While the state has already licensed a limited number of growers, dispensaries, and other businesses, it may issue more licenses as needed to meet demand.
With the passing of SQ 788 in June 2018, Oklahoma became the 30th U.S. state to legalize medical marijuana. Oklahoma residents over the age of 18 with a valid physician’s recommendation can apply for a medical marijuana patient license. If approved, they can purchase medical marijuana from licensed dispensaries throughout the state. Dispensaries in Oklahoma must be at least 1,000 feet from a public or private school.
This is measured by a straight line (shortest distance) from the property line of the dispensary to any entrance of the school. Medical cannabis dispensaries in Oklahoma can sell mature plants, seedlings, concentrates, flower and edibles. The Oklahoma State Department of Health is responsible for approving licenses, and they have a few criteria for application which include;
- Applicant must be age twenty-five (25) or older;
- Any applicant, applying as an individual, must show residency in the state of Oklahoma;
- All applying entities must show that all members, managers, and board members are Oklahoma residents;
- An applying entity may show ownership of non-Oklahoma residents, but that percentage ownership may not exceed twenty-five percent (25%)
- All applying individuals or entities must be registered to conduct business in the state of Oklahoma;
- All applicants must disclose all ownership;
- Applicant(s) with only nonviolent felony conviction(s) in the last two (2) years, any other felony conviction in five (5) years, inmates, or any other person currently incarcerated may not qualify for a medical marijuana dispensary license.
In 2013, Oregon House Bill 3460 became law, allowing registered medical marijuana dispensaries. The legislation went into effect on March 1, 2014. Licenses are required and available for both medical and recreational marijuana businesses. The state requires separate licenses and registration for growers and dispensary operators. The Oregon Liquor Control Commission License (OLCC) accepts applications for marijuana licenses.
Dispensary application fee: $4,000. The registration fee is usually $3,500 and the application fee is $500. There is also an annual tracking system fee of $480. Each applicant also has to pay $35 for a background check. In addition, there is going to be huge capital of up to $500,000 to open up a new cannabis dispensary.
28. Rhode Island
Under Rhode Island state law, cannabis businesses, such as dispensaries are to be referred to as compassion centers. A compassion center in the state of Rhode Island may do any of the following: cultivation, processing, transportation as well as selling cannabis to all registered patients and registered primary care providers.
Applications can only be submitted during an open application period announced by the state as necessary. The state has 3 licensed compassion centers currently in operation. Each application for a compassion center shall include:
- A non-refundable application fee paid to the department in the amount of two hundred fifty dollars ($250);
- The proposed legal name and proposed articles of incorporation of the compassion center;
- The proposed physical address of the compassion center, if a precise address has been determined, or, if not, the general location where it would be located. This may include a second location for the cultivation of medical marijuana;
- A description of the enclosed, locked facility that would be used in the cultivation of marijuana;
- The name, address, and date of birth of each principal officer and board member of the compassion center;
- Proposed security and safety measures that shall include at least one security alarm system for each location, planned measures to deter and prevent the unauthorized entrance into areas containing marijuana and the theft of marijuana, as well as a draft, employee-instruction manual including security policies, safety and security procedures, personal safety, and crime-prevention techniques; and
- Proposed procedures to ensure accurate record keeping.
In 2014, the state passed SB 2531, a limited medical cannabis bill, allowing for the use of cannabis oil containing CBAAD as part of Aa clinical research study on its effects on patients suffering from seizure disorders. Tennessee Tech is given the opportunity to cultivate, process, and dispense CBD. In Tennessee, qualified patients may possess and use CBD extracts. The current law does not allow for a state-regulated dispensary system.
In Texas, only medically qualified individuals may possess or use CBD oil. State licensed businesses are allowed to dispense, cultivate and process low THC marijuana. The Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) issues the license.
The license will authorize the organizations to cultivate process and dispense low-THC cannabis to prescribed patients. The department according to the state bill is required to license just three dispensing organizations, and these there organizations have already been licensed. For now the state is not receiving applications.
In Utah, registered qualified patients can possess and use medical marijuana. State licensed entities may cultivate, process and dispense medical marijuana. The Utah Department of Health is responsible for giving out licenses to applicants. Applicant will need an operating plan that includes operating procedures that comply with the law;
Including financial statements demonstrating that the applicant possesses a minimum of $500,000 in liquid assets available for each cannabis cultivation facility for which the person applies, or a minimum of $100,000 in liquid assets available for each cannabis processing facility or independent cannabis testing laboratory for which the person applies.
The Department of Public Safety is responsible for the Marijuana Registry and issues dispensary registration certificates. The Department has issued 4 dispensary registration certificates, and 1 conditional certificate. The Department plans announcing an application period for a 6th dispensary once the number of registered patients reaches 7,000.
Currently, dispensaries are the only types of marijuana businesses being licensed in Vermont. Licensees can operate two dispensaries under the same permit. It’s advisable to understand state regulations and also curate the marijuana business in line with local laws.
Application fees are as follows:
- $2,500 dispensary application fee
- $50 registered Caregiver Application Fee
- Licensing fees include:
- $20,000 Initial Dispensary registration fee
- $25,000 Renewal Dispensary registration fee
In 2012, Washington became the very first U.S. state to legalize the recreational use of cannabis after over a decade of medical legalization. With the passing of Initiative 502, adults over the age of 21 became legally allowed to purchase and possess cannabis products from licensed dispensaries. The Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Board is responsible for marijuana licensing; however, it’s not currently accepting applications for licenses.
34. Washington D.C.
While it’s legal to use marijuana recreationally, there are no retail establishments selling marijuana for recreational use. The D.C. Department of Health has a Medical Marijuana Program, but it’s not currently accepting applications for medical marijuana facilities.
In Wisconsin, qualified patients may possess and use CBD extracts. State-permitted physicians and pharmacies may dispense CBD extracts to patients. The state of Wisconsin is currently not accepting applications for marijuana businesses.
36. West Virginia
Governor Jim Justice signed Senate Bill 386, known as the Medical Cannabis Act, on April 19, 2017, making the medicinal use of marijuana for qualifying patients legal in West Virginia. Patients will be able to obtain medical cannabis in the following forms: pill, oil, topical forms including gels, creams, or ointments, a form medically appropriate for administration by vaporization or nebulization, tincture, liquid, or dermal patch.
The state intends to issues about 30 dispensary permits to individuals. Individuals wanting to obtain a West Virginia Dispensary Permit must submit an application which includes the following:
- Verification of all principals, operators, financial backers or employees of a medical cannabis grower/processor or dispensary.
- A description of responsibilities as a principal, operator, financial backer or employee.
- Any release necessary to obtain information from governmental agencies, employers and other organizations.
- A criminal history record check.
- Details relating to a similar license, permit or other authorization obtained in another jurisdiction, including any suspensions, revocations or discipline in that jurisdiction.
- A description of the business activities in which it intends to engage as a medical cannabis organization. The application for a Dispensary Permit will require specific business plans
- A statement that the applicant:
- Is of good moral character.
- Possesses the ability to obtain in an expeditious manner the right to use sufficient land, buildings and other premises and equipment to properly carry on the activity described in the application and any proposed location for a facility.
- Is able to maintain effective security and control to prevent diversion, abuse and other illegal conduct relating to medical cannabis.
- Is able to comply with all applicable State laws and rules relating to the activities in which the applicant intends to engage under this act.
- The name, residential address, and title of each financial backer and principal of the applicant.
- Any other information the Bureau of Public Health may require
States With No Medical or Recreational Marijuana Use Laws
States that currently prohibit the use of marijuana or severely limit its use include:
- New Hampshire
- North Carolina
- South Carolina
- South Dakota