Do you want to start a pest control business in USA? If YES, here are state requirements to get a pest control license in USA and how to go about the process. Pest control license allows pest control experts to rid human environment of nuisances like snakes, ants, cockroaches, termites and rodents. All pest control professionals are expected to acquire industry certifications and licenses enabling them to work in various locations.

Although each state has its own certification requirements, the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency provides guidance in determining certification criteria. Pest control professionals are expected to obtain high school diploma or equivalent. According to the National Pest Management Association, most pest control companies do not require a college degree.

They are also expected to take pest control courses offered through the state’s department of agriculture or similar governing body. The courses cover the basics of pesticide safety, such as proper application techniques, preventing exposure to pesticides and proper cleansing methods in instances of exposure. After taking these courses, they are mandated to take the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency’s National Pesticide Operator Core Exam.

Coupled with other tests various states may require for certification, the EPA exam serves as certification to be a private or commercial pesticide applicator. The 90-question exam ensures that applicants are tested on relevant material and establishes uniform standards across states. Each state varies in its recertification or renewal requirements.

These professionals are then expected to undergo training from an employer after receiving certification. Most states require pest control workers to have on-the-job training, which usually takes about three months. This training can be a mix of field experience and classroom instruction.

Below are the requirements needed to acquire pest control license as they vary according to states. The main requirements listed below are based on the regulating authority, the needed experience, and the need for an exam. There are some states that have lesser requirements.

How to Get a Pest Control License in USA – State Requirements

1. Alabama

The Pesticide Management Section of The State Department of Agriculture and Industries regulates individuals or companies that sell, use, or supervise the use of restricted use pesticides, engage in the commercial application of pesticides, and structural pest control or horticultural activities.

Requirements

  • Experience Required: Yes
  • Test Required: Yes
  • Test Fee: $50
  • License Fee: $175

2. Alaska

Alaska state regulations 18 AAC 90.300 (PDF) require you to be a Certified Pesticide Applicator If you use, or supervise the use of pesticides on property other than your own, this is “custom, commercial, or contract” application, and requires certification. The licensing authority in the state is the State Division of Environmental Health

Requirements

  • Experience Required: Yes
  • Test Required: Yes
  • Test Fee: $65 + Proctor Fee
  • License Fee: $25

3. Arizona

The Pest Management Division (PMD) is a State agency that licenses, educates and regulates the pest management industry. The Agency is guided by the Environmental Protection Agency regulations and state statutes and rules. The PMD licenses commercial pest control businesses in Arizona and the pesticide applicators and inspectors employed by these companies.

It also enforces federal and state laws governing pesticide use and storage. Consumer complaints involving licensed businesses are handled through the Agency. Staffs investigates these complaints and presents its findings to the agency’s Acting Director who determines if any violations exist and takes action based upon the findings.

Requirements

  • Experience Required: Yes
  • Test Required: Yes
  • Test Fee: $75
  • License Fee: $250

4. Arkansas

Applying pesticides requires appropriate education and training – also known as certification or recertification – to assure safe and effective use. There are two steps to the process: Certification followed by licensing.  (Certification is typically good for 5 years.). After obtaining your certification, you can get a 1-year or 5-year private applicator license from the Arkansas Department of Agriculture Plant Industries Division, Pesticide Section.

Pesticide Education and Certification is the responsibility of the Arkansas Cooperative Extension Service. Pesticide licensing, rules, regulation, and enforcement are the responsibility of the Arkansas Department of Agriculture Plant Industries Division, Pesticide Section.

Requirements

  • Experience Required: Yes
  • Test Required: No
  • Test Fee: N/A
  • License Fee: $10

5. California

You’re expected to visit the local County Agricultural Commissioner for private applicator certificate information, visit the Structural Pest Control Board for structural pest control licensing information, or visit the California Department of Public Health for vector control technician certification information.

Requirements

  • Experience Required: Yes
  • Test Required: Yes
  • Test Fee: $140
  • License Fee: $160

6. Colorado

If you wish to apply for pesticides “for hire” you will need to become a licensed commercial applicator in one or more of the 21 categories designated by the Colorado Department of Agriculture. Commercial Applicators can now take their examinations at proctored locations across Colorado! You can order study guides for the General exam and other categories through the National Pesticide Safety Education Centre (NPSEC).

Requirements

  • Experience Required: Yes
  • Test Required: Yes
  • Test Fee: $31.50
  • License Fee: $450

7. Connecticut

There are two classes of commercial certification in this state – supervisory and operational.  In addition, farmers and other growers are classified as private applicators. A commercial junior operator certificate is required for commercial applicators that actively use pesticides in other than a supervisory capacity. This certification allows the holder to use pesticides only under the direction of a certified supervisor.

A commercial supervisory certificate is required for commercial applicators who are responsible for deciding whether or not pesticides are to be applied, how they are to be mixed, where they are to be applied, what pesticides are to be used, the dosage and timing involved in the pesticide use and the methods of application and precautions to be taken in the use of such pesticides.

Requirements

  • Experience Required: Yes
  • Test Required: Yes
  • Test Fee: $200
  • License Fee: No Licensing Fee

8. Delaware

In the state, you can become a Certified Commercial Applicator in one or more categories of pest control. But at least one of the certified applicators must have a minimum of two years practical experience under the supervision of a certified applicator.

This experience shall have been acquired during the previous three year period, and shall be related to the license classification at issue. This requirement applies to aerial applicators and the structural pest control industry (Categories 7A, 7B, and 7C) only.

Requirements

  • Experience Required: Yes
  • Test Required: Yes
  • Test Fee: $30
  • License Fee: $50

9. Florida

All businesses providing pest control services within the state of Florida must be properly registered with the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services. A Florida Certified Pest Control Operator on staff is required in order for a company to become adequately licensed.

Requirements

  • Experience Required: Yes
  • Test Required: Yes
  • Test Fee: $300
  • License Fee: $600

10. Georgia

In the State of Georgia, the licensing authority is Georgia Dept. of Agriculture Pest Control.

Requirements

  • Experience Required: Yes
  • Test Required: Yes
  • Test Fee: $45
  • License Fee: $170

11. Hawaii

Scheduling an exam can be done through the state Pesticides Education Portal at: https://inforps-dp.hawaii.gov/PesticidesEducation/#/homepage. Instructions on signing up for exams can be found at: https://hdoa.hawaii.gov/pi/files/2021/03/Navigating-the-Pesticides-Education-Portal.pdf.

Study packets may be purchased from the University of Hawaii, College of Tropical Agriculture and Human Resources, Cooperative Extension Service.  To place an order or to download a copy please visit their website at: https://cms.ctahr.hawaii.edu/epp/Education/Study-Guide-Packets.

Requirements

  • Experience Required: Yes
  • Test Required: Yes
  • Test Fee: $50
  • License Fee: $335

12. Idaho

The Idaho State Department of Agriculture is charged with issuing pest control license in the state. This department was established in 1919 to serve and regulate this cornerstone industry. We oversee more than 60 sections of Idaho Code, and the agency is structured to efficiently implement our statutory duties. The ISDA is divided into the Director’s Office, six divisions and one bureau.

Requirements

  • Experience Required: No
  • Test Required: Yes
  • Test Fee: $10
  • License Fee: $120

13. Illinois

In the State of Illinois, the licensing authority is the Illinois Department of Public Health Structural Pest Control Division.

Requirements

  • Experience Required: No
  • Test Required: Yes
  • Test Fee: No Test Fee
  • License Fee: $250

14. Indiana

The pesticide section of OISC regulates the distribution and application of pesticides in the State of Indiana. The pesticide section is charged with the administration and enforcement of Indiana pesticide laws (I.C. 15-16-4 and I.C. 15-16-5) and also represents the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) in Indiana for the purpose of enforcing many provisions of federal pesticide law.

The mission of the Office of Indiana State Chemist Pesticide Section is to protect the public and the environment by ensuring that pesticide products distributed within the state are properly formulated and labelled and that individuals who apply pesticides have met minimum competency standards, when required, and apply those pesticides without causing harm to people or property.

Requirements

  • Experience Required: No
  • Test Required: Yes
  • Test Fee:
  • License Fee:

15. Iowa

The Consumer Protection & Industry Services Division and the Food Safety & Animal Health Division are responsible for a wide variety of consumer protection and agriculture promotion programs including regulating meat processing, commercial feed and fertilizer, pesticide application, grain warehouses and dealers and dairy production and processing.

The Weights and Measures Bureau makes sure both buyers and sellers are treated fairly at the gas pump, Grocery Store or grain elevator.

Requirements

  • Experience Required: No
  • Test Required: Yes
  • Test Fee: $20
  • License Fee: $25

16. Kansas

To qualify for certification, a commercial pesticide applicator must show adequate knowledge of the type of pesticide application that he or she intends to perform. By educating, training, and testing people who apply certain pesticides, The State Department of Agriculture is able to assure consumers that the person applying pesticides to their lawn, home or workplace is knowledgeable and qualified.

Requirements

  • Experience Required: No
  • Test Required: Yes
  • Test Fee: $45
  • License Fee: No License Fee

17. Kentucky

The Division of Food Distribution contributes to the nutritional well being of the citizens of Kentucky by distributing USDA commodities to eligible recipient agencies. Food Distribution administers four food programs for USDA.

The Division of Environmental Services is responsible for regulating the registration, sale, distribution, proper use, storage, disposal, and application of pesticides in Kentucky. The Division of Regulation and Inspection, through its wide range of regulatory duties, affects each and every Kentucky family.

Requirements

  • Experience Required: No
  • Test Required: Yes
  • Test Fee: $25
  • License Fee: $100

18. Louisiana

Your business must be licensed if you intend on applying any pesticide (including general use pesticides) for hire, selling any federally restricted use pesticide or state restricted use pesticides, or making pesticide recommendations for a fee. Also, the business must employ at least one certified Commercial Pesticide Applicator, RUP Salesperson, or Agricultural Consultant, respectively.

Additionally, all licensed companies must pay the appropriate annual fees (Pesticide Fee Schedule), and Owner Operator Licensed companies must maintain and provide evidence of financial surety (Rules and Regulations Section133) and register their mechanized pesticide application equipment.

Requirements

  • Experience Required: Yes
  • Test Required: Yes
  • Test Fee: $25-50
  • License Fee: $200 (Must Be a Resident)

19. Maine

Maine law requires many people who apply or sell pesticides to first obtain a license. The Board of Pesticides Control has the responsibility for licensing applicators and distributors to ensure pesticides are used properly and to protect the people and the environment of Maine.

Requirements

  • Experience Required: No
  • Test Required: Yes
  • Test Fee: $50
  • License Fee: $105

20. Maryland

Before making application for certification as a commercial pesticide applicator, public agency applicator or pest control consultant, you’re mandated to read the Pesticide Information Sheet No. 14, “Pesticide Applicator Certification and Business and Licensing Requirements,” to make certain you qualify to sit for the certification examination.

Requirements

  • Experience Required: Yes
  • Test Required: Yes
  • Test Fee: $10
  • License Fee: $150

21. Massachusetts

You must complete and submit an exam application form with the appropriate fee. The deadline to receive the application is one-week before the selected exam date. After taking the exam and receiving a passing score, the Agriculture agency will send you instructions on how to apply for your license or certification. You have one year to submit an application with the appropriate fee to receive your license or certification credential.

Requirements

  • Experience Required: Yes
  • Test Required: Yes
  • Test Fee: $75
  • License Fee: $150
  1. Michigan

Any commercial applicator that holds him/her out to the public as being in the business of applying pesticides within this state for compensation is expected to acquire a license. To qualify for a license, the applicant is expected to submit a signed application on the Department’s form. Submit a certificate of liability insurance. Submit the $100 application fee by check or money order made payable to the State of Michigan.

Requirements

  • Experience Required: Yes
  • Test Required: Yes
  • Test Fee: No Test Fee
  • License Fee: $100

23. Minnesota

Structural Pest Control Applicators are persons who apply pesticides or use any device to control pests on or in structures for hire. SPCA is known as pest control operators or exterminators. To apply for a Structural Pest Control Applicator (SPCA) License, Complete a NEW Structural Pesticide Applicator License application form online or download and print a Structural Pesticide Applicator License Application (PDF) to complete and mail to MDA.

Also see Identification Number Requirements. Submit License Fees and surcharges with application form either on paper or online. Payment or proof of online payment for license must be made before taking the certification exams. Take and pass Core – A and SPCA Journeyman exams. Call 651-201-6633 or [email protected] to schedule an exam at MDA.

Requirements

  • Experience Required: Yes
  • Test Required: Yes
  • Test Fee: No Test Fee
  • License Fee: $250

24. Mississippi

In 2019, the State Bureau of Plant Industry added the option of taking computer-based commercial applicator certification and dealer licensing examinations at testing centres around the state. Persons interested in this option should visit the Metro Institute website for information and special instructions regarding computer-based testing for commercial applicator certification and dealer licensing. The cost for computer-based testing is $55/exam.

Requirements

  • Experience Required:
  • Test Required: Yes
  • Test Fee: $55
  • License Fee: No License Fee

25. Missouri

To become certified, the applicant is required to pass the state pesticide certification examinations. The applicant is required to pass the General Standards of Competence (CORE) examination and at least one of the category examinations listed below. The applicant should choose the category exam(s) based on their area of expertise.

After passing the required exams and depending on the type of license for which the applicant is applying, there are additional requirements the applicant will have to meet. For example: To apply for a Certified Commercial Applicator license, the applicant must submit to the Missouri Department of Agriculture or upload the required documents through the MOPlants online submission process.

Requirements

  • Experience Required: Yes
  • Test Required: Yes
  • Test Fee: No Test Fee
  • License Fee: $50

26. Montana

The department of agriculture issues licenses to sell or apply pesticides after training and testing to protect producers, consumers and the environment. Staff can assist with applications to assure that they can be processed promptly. Applicator and dealer licenses are issued by type and category, with appropriate education and testing for each.

Requirements

  • Experience Required: No
  • Test Required: Yes
  • Test Fee: No Test Fee
  • License Fee: $80

27. Nebraska

The Nebraska Department of Agriculture (NDA) is responsible for the certification and licensing of pesticide applicators in Nebraska. NDA does not regulate the process of applying pesticides in irrigation water (chemigation) or facilities where pesticides are mixed or loaded.

These two functions are regulated by the Nebraska Department of Environment and Energy (NDEE). Interested persons should look for Chemigation and Agricultural Chemical Secondary Containment by going to “Programs”, then “Water Division Programs” on NDEE’s web page for more information.

Requirements

  • Experience Required: No
  • Test Required: Yes
  • Test Fee: No Test Fee
  • License Fee: $90

28. Nevada

Pest control licensing in Nevada is divided into four fields of pest control: Aerial, Agricultural Ground, Urban and Structural, and Consulting. Within each field are several pest control categories. You should familiarize yourself with these fields and categories and identify which categories your business will be Practicing.

There are a few steps to complete before submitting a Pest Control Business License Application and Starting a pest control company in Nevada.  The first step is to identify a qualified person to serve as Primary Principal for the company.  In Nevada, pest control companies are required to have a Designated Primary Principal for each category of pest control in which the company operates.

Primary Principals are responsible for record keeping, regulatory compliance, providing training to operators, and maintaining good standards of practice across the company. There are education, experience, and Background check requirements to serve as Primary Principal, but this position does not need to be held by the company owner or manager

Requirements

  • Experience Required: Yes
  • Test Required: Yes
  • Test Fee: $50
  • License Fee: $300

29. New Hampshire

The state department of agriculture, markets and food oversees the licensing or permitting of commercial and private pesticide users (applicators) as well as pesticide dealers. Through this process, only persons demonstrating satisfactory competence in the safe and legal use of pesticides within New Hampshire may apply pesticides.

Re-certification is required to maintain a current license whereby every five years each licensed individual attends educational seminars to ensure they remain up to date in pesticide knowledge. The Division is ultimately responsible for coordinating all required testing, licensing and permitting for pesticide applicators and dealers.

Requirements

  • Experience Required: Yes
  • Test Required: Yes
  • Test Fee: $5
  • License Fee: $20

30. New Jersey

All interested persons must pass the basic “Core” certification exam. This exam is based on the Pesticide Applicator Training Manual – Core. To be eligible to take the Core exam, the applicant shall submit proof of completion of a Department approved Basic Pesticide Training Course (see Notice).

The course shall provide a working knowledge of the following: proper use of application equipment, potential hazards involved in applying pesticides, instructions for the mixing of pesticides, protective clothing and equipment, applicable State and Federal pesticide laws and regulations, interpretation of pesticide labels and understanding integrated pest management.

Requirements

  • Experience Required: Yes
  • Test Required: Yes
  • Test Fee: No Test Fee
  • License Fee: $150

31. New Mexico

In order to qualify for a Commercial Applicator license in New Mexico, an individual must document 2 years’ experience applying pesticides. They may instead document 20 hours of college credits in biological and/or agricultural sciences. In this case, they also need 1 year experience.

Commercial Applicators become certified by passing an exam covering core pesticide information and NM laws and rules. They also need to pass at least one specific pest control category exam. License holders in other US states may apply to have some of their certifications recognized by NMDA. They may only need to pass the NM laws test.

Requirements

  • Experience Required: Yes
  • Test Required: Yes
  • Test Fee: $10
  • License Fee: $75

32. New York

Individuals may become certified as commercial pesticide applicators, commercial pesticide technicians and/or private pesticide applicators. The type of applications that a person may perform is dependent on the applicator’s certification. The pesticide applicator requirements are explained in detail in Title 6 of the Official Compilation of Codes, Rules and Regulations of the State of New York Part 325 Application of Pesticides

Requirements

  • Experience Required: Yes
  • Test Required: Yes
  • Test Fee: $450
  • License Fee:

33. North Carolina

The North Carolina Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services, Structural Pest Control & Pesticides Division is the licensing authority in the state.

Requirements

  • Experience Required: Yes
  • Test Required: Yes
  • Test Fee: $200
  • License Fee:

34. North Dakota

The North Dakota Department of Agriculture administers a variety of regulatory and non-regulatory pesticide programs. They regulate agricultural and non-agricultural pesticide dealers, distributors, and users to ensure compliance with state and federal laws and regulations.  The goal of the pesticide programs is to verify and improve compliance, as well as to promote the safe and legal distribution, sale, storage, and use of pesticides.

Requirements

  • Experience Required: Yes
  • Test Required: No
  • Test Fee: No Test Fee
  • License Fee: $65

35. Ohio

The state division’s Pesticide Regulation Program regulates the use and distribution of pesticides in Ohio. This section issues licenses to pesticide applicators and serves as the registrar for pesticide companies. Through routine inspections, staff members enforce the state laws and rules that govern these activities.

In addition to these responsibilities, staff members conduct inspections for the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency in accordance with a cooperative agreement to ensure compliance with the Federal Insecticide, Fungicide and Rodenticide Act. The section licenses over 25,000 pesticide applicators and more than 15,000 pesticide products.

Requirements

  • Experience Required: Yes
  • Test Required: Yes
  • Test Fee: No Test Fee
  • License Fee: $35

36. Oklahoma

Applicator certification requires the successful completion of at least two examinations: The “Core” exam, consisting of knowledge required in all categories of certification; and the category exam itself. A few of the categories require completion of a practical examination in conjunction with the Core and category exams for certification in that particular category.

Test Sessions are regularly scheduled at various locations around Oklahoma. Appointments must be made at through PSI Services LLC. Applicants are required to provide some type of photo identification (e.g., a valid driver’s license) showing their name and identification number.

All exam handouts and other necessary materials will be provided at the testing site. Study materials may be obtained from the Oklahoma State University Central Mailing Service; order forms are available from Consumer Protection Services, or call (405) 744-9037.

Requirements

  • Experience Required: No
  • Test Required: Yes
  • Test Fee: $50
  • License Fee: $100

37. Oregon

Oregon Department of Agriculture is the licensing authority in the state.

Requirements

  • Experience Required: Yes
  • Test Required: Yes
  • Test Fee: $58
  • License Fee: $90

38. Pennsylvania

To be eligible for certification, a person must pass two written examinations (core and a minimum of one category) and be employed by a pesticide application business or plan to start their own.  Currently there are 26 categories of commercial and public applicators.

To maintain certification, applicators must attend update training programs in core and appropriate category-specific topics. Six core credits and up to ten category credits for each category in which the applicator is certified are required.  If the recertification credit requirements are not met by the specified date, the applicator’s license will expire and that applicator will no longer be permitted to make pesticide applications until the license is reinstated.

Requirements

  • Experience Required: Yes
  • Test Required: Yes
  • Test Fee: $50
  • License Fee: $35

39. Rhode Island

One of the major functions of the Division of Agriculture’s Pesticides unit is to certify and license commercial pesticide applicators for all pesticides, and certify private applicators for restricted-use or state limited-use pesticides.

Requirements

  • Experience Required: Yes
  • Test Required: Yes
  • Test Fee: No Test Fee
  • License Fee: $45

40. South Carolina

There are 2 ways to obtain a commercial license in SC: Take SC Exams then complete the application process.  Or Reciprocate on your current pesticide license from a state in which SC has a reciprocal agreement. You will also need to take the Core and Category exams.  To register to take the exams you will need to contact Karen Claflin at [email protected].

If needed, study material can be ordered through PSA Publications at Clemson’s Marketplace. Once exams have been completed and passed, the required forms for a commercial pesticide license will be mailed or emailed to the examinee.  To apply for a commercial license, you will need to return the completed forms with your payment to the licensing department.

Requirements

  • Experience Required: No
  • Test Required: Yes
  • Test Fee: No Test Fee
  • License Fee: $50

41. South Dakota

The State Department of Agriculture is charged with issuing pest control license in the state.

Requirements

  • Experience Required: No
  • Test Required: Yes
  • Test Fee: No Test Fee

License Fee: $25

  1. Tennessee

The Pesticide Section within the Tennessee Department of Agriculture works with commercial and private applicators, pesticide manufacturers and dealers, structural pest control operators, farmers, landscapers and others to ensure regulations are followed for public safety. The section also registers pesticides and certifies applicators.

Requirements

  • Experience Required: Yes
  • Test Required: Yes
  • Test Fee: $150
  • License Fee: $200

43. Texas

The Structural Pest Control Act (Chapter 1951 of the Occupations Code) requires licensing of businesses and individuals that perform structural pest control for hire.

Additionally, employees of units of state government who apply pesticides as part of their job duties, and persons performing pest control at an apartment building, day-care centre, hospital, nursing home, hotel, motel, or lodge, warehouse, food-processing establishment (other than a restaurant, retail food, or food service establishment), or school must be licensed. The state department of agriculture is charged with providing and renewing these licenses.

Requirements

  • Experience Required: Yes
  • Test Required: Yes
  • Test Fee: $64
  • License Fee: $300

44. Utah

With roots dating to 1921, the Utah Department of Agriculture and Food have been charged with overseeing dozens of legislatively mandated licensing programs that promote the healthy growth of Utah agriculture, the conservation of its natural resources and the protection of its food supply.

Requirements

  • Experience Required: Yes
  • Test Required: Yes
  • Test Fee: $65
  • License Fee: $75-30

45. Vermont

The State licensing authority is the State Agency6for Agriculture, Food and Markets.

Requirements

  • Experience Required: No
  • Test Required: Yes
  • Test Fee: No Test Fee
  • License Fee: $75

46. Virginia

Established in 1877, the Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (VDACS) promotes the economic growth and development of Virginia agriculture, provides consumer protection, encourages environmental stewardship, regulates and offer pest control licenses.

The agency is headquartered in Richmond and has several field offices, four regional diagnostic animal health laboratories and a global network of representatives promoting Virginia products internationally.

Requirements

  • Experience Required: Yes
  • Test Required: Yes
  • Test Fee: No Test Fee
  • License Fee: $50

47. Washington

In Washington, the Department of Energy and Environment (DOEE) is the leading authority on energy and environmental issues. With a combination of regulations, outreach, education, and incentives, this agency administers programs, services, and environmental related licenses to fulfil its mission.

We work collaboratively with other government agencies, residents, businesses, and institutions to promote environmentally responsible behaviour that will lead to a more sustainable urban environment.

Requirements

  • Experience Required: No
  • Test Required: Yes
  • Test Fee: $25
  • License Fee: $215

48. West Virginia

The State’s Department of Agriculture administers examinations and approves continuing education programs to ensure that pesticide applicators are competent to follow prescribed pest control practices.

All fees must be paid in US funds drawn from a US Bank, unless the registrant includes an additional $35.00 to cover the WV Treasurer Office handling cost for processing a foreign check. All returned checks will be subject to a $15.00 banking service fee.

Requirements

  • Experience Required: Yes
  • Test Required: Yes
  • Test Fee: $20
  • License Fee: $60
  1. Wisconsin

The Bureau of Agrichemical Management regulates certifies pesticide applicators after they pass examinations, which then makes them eligible for licensing. The Bureau also licenses businesses and registers pesticide products. In the case of fertilizers and soil and plant additives, the Bureau licenses businesses.

Requirements

  • Experience Required: Yes
  • Test Required: Yes
  • Test Fee: No Test Fee
  • License Fee: $51.20
  1. Wyoming

The licensing authority in Wyoming is the Wyoming Department of Agriculture. The agency assists the citizens of Wyoming to live safe and healthy lives, promote and preserve our agricultural community, be responsible stewards of our natural resources, and achieve integrity in the marketplace.

The WDA is comprised of six sections: Administrative Services, Analytical Services (Chemistry & Microbiology Laboratories), Consumer Health Services, Natural Resources, Technical Services, and Wyoming State Fair.

Requirements

  • Experience Required: Yes
  • Test Required: Yes
  • Test Fee: No Test Fee
  • License Fee: $25

Although many states do not have the same regulations for non-commercial pest control applications for those wishing to handle their own pest control around their own property, misapplication of pesticides can result in detrimental consequences.

Ajaero Tony Martins