Being a bar tender involves more than just selling drinks to a broad range of clientele; from a lonely businessman who wants to tell you his life story, to rowdy bachelor parties, to a gathering of power-drinking truckers who threaten you when you try to close the bar at the end of the night. In order cater for this vast array of clientele, strong interpersonal skills will be required, a way with words, and – obviously – some kind of formal nationwide license to prove that you have the ability to deal with any given situation. However, there is more to bartending.
Bartending, like most jobs in the United States today is becoming more and more regulated than before. This can be attributed to the fact that employers, often due to worries over insurance, are becoming more likely to require employees to get some kind of mandatory bartending school training or state-provided permit even before they set foot behind their bar.
Before, people used to view bartending as a form of part time work, or a side hustle that people use to make more money. However, this career has since grown to become a full time job for thousands of people across the country. A study that was carried out recently found out that people are getting increasingly attracted to bartending; mainly due to its 2.5% job growth rate and a lucrative annual salary exceeding $24,000.
If you would want to become a bartender, but do not know how to go about it, then you will find this article to be very valuable.
Table of Content
- Bartending Licenses
- Cost of a Bartending License
- How Long Does it Take to Get a Bartending License?
- 1. Alaska
- 2. Alabama
- 3. Arkansas
- 4. Arizona
- 5. Hawaii
- 6. California
- 7. Colorado
- 8. Colorado Bartending Training
- 9. Connecticut
- 10. Delaware
- 11. Georgia
- 12. Florida
- 13. Bartender Qualifications and Restrictions
- 14. Hawaii
- 15. Server Training Schedule
- 16. Idaho
- 17. Boise City Bartending License Requirements:
- 18. Illinois
- 19. Illinois BASSET Certification:
- 20. Indiana
In order to sell alcohol in some states, you will need to have a state or municipal issued certification. This will serve as a proof that you have gone through the state approved courses and understand laws regarding the sale of alcohol and other related aspects. Think of a bartending license as a diploma that proves to the state or a potential employer that you understand the intricacies of serving customers alcohol from behind a bar.
Even though all the states in America have a minimum legal age to sell alcohol, their various licensing obligations differ. They have different courses and prerequisites. For instance, a license is a necessity before you can work as a bartender in some states, while some states will give you a grace period, where you can work for 180 days while your license is being processed.
As much as half of the states in the America will require intending bartenders to have a license. If you’re old enough to serve, you will be eligible for a license. Even if you’re working in a state where a license is not required, it is always prudent to obtain one since it gives you leverage over other bartenders.
How to Get a Bartending License
The rule for getting certified as a bartender differs from state to state, and even municipality to municipality. In some places, an online training will suffice; however, other locations require that students take the classes in person.
Online Bartending Training
Some states and municipalities allow prospective bartenders to take an online training. Usually, these training are the basic and entry level category. This can be a convenient way to, in the comfort of your own home, pass the exam necessary to obtain your license which will then allow you to get a job. Online courses are not acceptable all over the country so it still depends on where you stay.
If you are resident in a state that allows online training, you should make sure that the online training you go for is from a state-certified program that will give you what you need to proceed. For those who already have a busy weekly schedule, online bartending training may be your best bet.
You get to study whenever you want and you will get the bartending license right from the comfort of your own home. In addition, online bartending training usually costs less than in-person bartending courses which can cost $50-100 more.
Offline bartending training
Online bartending training isn’t for everyone. Some people will require more hands on approach in order to learn. In-person bartending schools often supply students with the real tools, glassware, and alcohol that they will come to experience on the job. This gives students the ability to practice preparing, mixing and serving drinks all under the guidance and supervision of a professional bartender.
Cost of a Bartending License
If your state/municipality requires you to receive a bartending license, the cost most likely will not run more than $10 – 20. You should bear in mind that even though it is not required, there are hundreds of fake “courses” being sold online. These courses will often retail for hundreds of dollars and try to trick you into thinking that their course is required.
How Long Does it Take to Get a Bartending License?
Don’t let the thought of having to take a course dissuade you from becoming a bartender. Most courses take less than a day to complete. Ultimately though, it depends on your states requirements to determine the length of the bartending course. For instance, a TABC certification in Texas requires two hours to complete, whereas courses for the states of Michigan, Florida, and Illinois take less than 3 hours.
How to Get a Bartending License in Each State of USA
It is important to know that, alcoholic beverage laws differ from state to state. And that even though courses that have been approved in a state may have the same title as what is obtainable elsewhere, they are not the same.
The State of Alaska Alcoholic Beverage Control Board (ABC) is the liquor authority in charge of monitoring and imposing rules on the sales and service of alcoholic beverages in the said jurisdiction. It mandates all servers, supervisors and security persons involved directly in the sales and service of alcoholic beverages to receive the approved alcohol server training within a month of employment date.
Individuals must renew their alcohol server training certification every three years. Liquor license holders are allowed to sell and deliver alcoholic beverages on licensed premises only and should keep proof of their certification while working. Only individuals aged 21 and above can apply for a license from the ABC.
Employees who are not licensed to sell or serve alcohols, such as minors, can only dispose unconsumed alcoholic beverages left at their places of work. They cannot engage in the sales and delivery of alcoholic beverages; otherwise, the establishment could lose its business permit. In Alaska, it is compulsory that all bartenders (and people who serve alcoholic beverages) must receive approved alcohol server training within 30 days of employment.
In that vein, it is a necessity to attend an alcohol server course. The certificate that you receive at the end of the course has a validity of three years and will have to be renewed at the end of that period. In order to serve alcoholic beverages in the Alaska, you will need to be at least 21 years old.
State-approved Alcohol Server Training Courses are;
- TIPS (Training for Intervention Procedures)
- Training for Alcohol Professionals (TAP)
The state of Alabama does not have any regulations in place that require a server or bartender to be licensed in order to sell alcohol. In that vein, the state does not offer or require intending bartender to obtain a permit or certification. However, it is good to note that some employers will require you to complete a bartending course irrespective of the prevailing state law. Even though there is no license requirement in Alabama, you will still need to be at least 19 years of age in order to serve alcohol.
In Arkansas, there aren’t any state regulations in place that require a server or bartender to be licensed in order to sell alcohol. It is important to keep in mind though that some employers will require bartenders to complete such courses regardless of state or city laws. You will need to be at least 19 years old to serve in a restaurant and at least 21 to work at a bar in Arkansas.
The Arizona Department of Liquor License Control may require Title 4 training for applicants, licensees, managers, agents and other employees as provided by A.R.S. 4-112(G)(2). Persons conducting approved training programs shall, for a minimum of two years, retain records of persons who have satisfactorily completed the program. The record shall include:
- Name of the person completing the training;
- Date the training was completed;
- Type of training (on-sale, off-sale);
- If the person is employed by a licensee, the name of the licensee by whom the person is employed. Upon satisfactory completion of training, the trainer shall present a certificate of completion to the trainee. The certificate shall list the information required by subsection (G)(1) – (4) of this rule and include the name of the program and the signature of the trainer. In Arizona there aren’t any state regulations in place that require a server or bartender to be licensed in order to sell alcohol.
It is important to keep in mind some employers will require bartenders or any other employees to complete such courses regardless of state or city laws. If your employer does require you to be licensed, you will most likely be requested to receive a BASIC Title 4 training Certificate of Completion. You can find all of Arizona’s state-approved (Title 4) training providers. You will need to be at least 19 years old to serve Alcoholic Beverages In Arizona.
There are no requirements for Responsible Server Training in this jurisdiction.
In California there aren’t any state regulations in place that require a server or bartender to be licensed in order to sell alcohol. It is important to keep in mind though that some employers will require bartenders to complete such courses such as the LEAD Exam, regardless of state or city laws. You will have to be at least 18 years in order to serve in a restaurant and 21 years old to work at a bar.
In general, Colorado does not require a server or bartender to be licensed in order to sell alcohol. However, the exceptions, where an employee does need to be licensed are as follows:
- If you work at a liquor store that conducts tastings
- If you work in an establishment that has received a prior alcohol violation
Be that as it may, it is still good to note that many employers in the state of Colorado will want to be certified “Responsible Vendors” regardless of Colorado laws.
8. Colorado Bartending Training
In order to be certified, the establishment is required to have all new employees involved in the sale, handling and service of alcoholic beverages complete bartending training within 90 days of date of hire. Of course, the location where you work/ are applying will alert you if you are required to become certified. If you are required to obtain a bartending license, your class will include at least two (2) hours of instruction time and the successful passing of a final test with a 70% or higher.
The initial bartender’s training class will cover:
- Discussion concerning alcohol’s effects on the human body
- Liquor liability
- Sales to visibly intoxicated persons
- Sales to minors
- How to check for acceptable forms of identification
- Other key state laws and rules affecting owners, managers, sellers, and servers
The certificate you will receive will be valid for 3 year after which you will need to get a new one. In order to be a bartender in the state of Colorado you will need to be at least 18, if under the direct supervision of a person who is at least 21
In Connecticut there aren’t any state regulations in place that require a server or bartender to be licensed in order to sell alcohol. It is important to keep in mind though that some employers will require bartenders to complete such courses regardless of state or city laws. The minimum age or serving alcohol in Connecticut is 18.
According to the Division of Alcohol and Tobacco Enforcement in the state of Delaware, a state approved license is needed to sell and serve alcohol. In order to attend the Delaware Bartending School for free training classes, you must be 16 years of age or older. At the end of the course you will receive a card that confirms that you have completed the alcohol training course.
Responsible Server Training is available in two convenient formats – online and in person. The card is valid for 4 years. Classes usually last around 2.5 hours depending on how many students show up. There is a 40 question, multiple-choice test at the end of the lecture and then you receive your card.
In the state of Georgia, there aren’t any state regulations in place that require a server or bartender to be licensed in order to sell alcohol. However, it is good to note that some employers will require bartenders to complete such courses regardless of state or city laws. The minimum age for serving alcoholic drinks in Georgia is 18.
In the state of Florida, getting a bartenders license can be a very confusing process. According to Florida law, the state does not require those who sell or serve alcohol to have a permit or license. Unlike some states, Florida does not require mandatory alcohol server training for employees either. It is important, however, to keep in mind some employers, counties or cities will require bartenders to complete such courses regardless of state law.
It is very crucial to note that in the state of Florida, local jurisdictions often have their own regulations in addition to state statutes. Each local jurisdiction has the authority to decide if any training is required to serve alcohol. Regardless of if training is required or not, if you want to have a leg-up on the competition… here are our suggested courses (in-person and online) for the state of Florida.
If you want to receive hands on training, you can get professionally certified with BarMasters. The BarMasters School of Bartending Provides professionally instructed classes to teach anyone the art of bartending. Even if you’ve never mixed a drink in your life, they can teach you what you need to know to be a pro. Receive the certificate to your future. $100 gets you started today in Central Florida.
There are also some online bartending license courses that you can take in order to become a bartender. To obtain complete and accurate answers regarding local alcohol regulations, your best bet is to contact your local Alcoholic Beverages and Tobacco (ABT) District Office. The minimum Age to Serve Alcoholic Beverages in Florida is 18 years.
13. Bartender Qualifications and Restrictions
Florida statute 562.13 restricts the following persons from employment as a bartender or manager in an establishment that serves alcohol:
- Individuals who have been convicted of a felony or convicted for breaking any alcohol law set forth by the state, any other state, or the federal government within the past five (5) years.
- Individuals who have been convicted by the state, any other state, or the federal government for soliciting for prostitution, pandering, or letting premises for prostitution.
- Individuals who have had any felony violation of chapter 893 of the controlled substance act within the past five (5) years
In Hawaii, each county/ city has their own regulations in place that may or may not require a server or bartender to be licensed in order to sell alcohol. There is no state jurisdiction. It is important to keep in mind though that some employers will require bartenders to complete such courses regardless of city laws. Here is some information concerning bartending licenses in some counties in Hawaii.
In the county of Honolulu, Server-Training is required for bartenders. Most employee of Liquor Establishments are required to obtain a Certificate of Registration, otherwise known as a “Liquor Card” however, a server, is not required to take the training.
Bartenders must successfully complete the Server-Training class and pass the examination administered by the Honolulu Liquor Commission before obtaining their Certificate of Registration (Liquor Card) A liquor card has a validity of every 4 years in the county of Honolulu. Thus, if it has been over 4 years since employees last attended, they must attend the Server-training class and pass the examination again to receive a renewed Liquor Card.
The steps to get a liquor card are as follows;
First, Complete and bring the Certificate of Registration Form to the offices of the Honolulu Liquor Commission Address: 711 Kapiolani Blvd # 600, Honolulu, HI 96813. Along with completed Certificate Registration form, applicants must bring the following items:
- Valid, unexpired, Government-issued Photo ID, listing your name and date of birth (e.g. Driver’s License, State ID, US Passport, Military ID, DHS/USCIS I-688)
- Original Social Security Card or a printed Wage and Tax Statement Form (W-2) that lists your Social Security number on the document (required only for applicants who are registering for the first time; an electronic copy will not be accepted). To request a new Social Security Card access the Social Security Website or call the Social Security Office at 1-800-772-1213.3) $10.00 (cash only) processing fee per Liquor Card
15. Server Training Schedule
Training classes are provided every Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday, excluding holidays. The training sessions are usually held from 8:30 am to 11:00am depending on the amount of students. No late arrivals are allowed. The minimum Age Required to Bartend in the county of Honolulu is 18
In the Counties of Kauai and Maui there aren’t any regulations in place that require a server or bartender to be licensed in order to sell alcohol. The Minimum Age to Serve Alcoholic Beverages in Kauai is 18 while in Maui you will need to be at least 21.
Obtaining a bartending license in the state of Idaho is not always a straight forward process. Each local jurisdiction has the authority to decide if any training is required to serve alcohol. For instance, the city of Boise requires a bartending license/ training program for those who serve alcoholic beverages. It is important to keep in mind that some employers, counties, and cities will require bartenders to complete such courses regardless of state laws. The minimum Age To Serve Alcoholic Beverages In Idaho is 19.
17. Boise City Bartending License Requirements:
In the city of Boise, Bartenders must obtain the appropriate license or permit required by city ordinance. Some of the state approved server training programs that you can do in the City of Boise are TIPS (Training for Intervention Procedures program), Learn2Serve training for on premise servers and sellers of alcohol.
The state of Idaho provides a free, online Alcohol Awareness Certification. You should however note that this may or may not qualify with an employer’s city ordinance as an approved certification.
In Illinois each local jurisdiction has the authority to decide what, if any training is required to serve alcohol.
19. Illinois BASSET Certification:
Local jurisdictions in Illinois that do require a license in order to serve alcohol will require licensing based on the Beverage Alcohol Sellers and Servers Education and Training (BASSET). The BASSET program is a 4-hour course that consists of, but is not limited to:
- Spotting signs of intoxication and utilizing intervention techniques
- Preventing DUI’s and alcohol related fatalities
- Stopping underage sales and underage drinking
- Understanding state laws and your local ordinances
The Minimum Age Required To Serve/ Sell Alcohol in the State of Illinois is 18 (unless regulated by local ordinances)
In Indiana, anyone who serves or sells alcohol MUST be certified by the state. Unfortunately, the Alcohol and Tobacco Commission (ATC) for the state of Indiana makes this a very confusing process. For starters, the state of Indiana has 2 types of employee permits. One is for 19 and 20 year olds. This is called their “restricted permit”. While the other exists for persons 21 and up. This is called the “unrestricted permit”.
When the restricted employee becomes 21, the employee must obtain an unrestricted permit in order to continue to serve alcoholic beverages. There is a $45 fee to obtain/transfer permit. The unrestricted employee permit is valid for 3 years. Regardless of age, any certification must be obtained no later than 120 days from the date of hire at an alcohol establishment. Restricted Permit Laws and Information (for employees who are 19 and 20 years old)
- All 19 and 20 year olds MUST successfully complete a state-certified server training program PRIOR to applying for a restricted permit.
- The training is provided through the Excise Police District in your area.
the Indiana ATC offers a free online training program that meets all the requirements for server certification. There are 2 ways to access this (free) training:
- If you are applying online for a new employee permit, you are offered the option to complete the training during the application process.
- If you have already applied for and have received your permit by using a paper application, you can also do the online training.
As soon as a employee successfully completes the training program, the restricted employee should then submit an application to the Indiana Alcohol & Tobacco Commission with the certification attached along with the other required information. Here are some notable Laws & Regulations for the “Restricted Employee”
- In order for the restricted employee to serve alcoholic beverages, the employee must be supervised by someone who has successfully completed a state-certified server training program.
- The restricted employee may not act as a bartender or serve alcoholic beverages in the bar room
- The restricted employee may not mix drinks as well as: Draw beer from a tap or spigot into a pitcher or mug, Pour pre-mixed beverages into containers to be served at a table or dining area
- The restricted employee may only serve in family areas of retail establishments.
- The restricted employee is allowed to garnish a drink prepared by a licensed bartender and may uncork and pour wine from a bottle at a customer’s table
- The restricted employee may not serve drinks in a recreational area such as a pool room, arcade room, or in the stands at a sports arena
- The restricted employee may serve alcoholic beverages in the banquet room of a hotel or restaurant but may not serve over a bar or act as a bartender.
The minimum Age to Be a Bartender in Indiana is 21. Although an employee may be over the age of 21, the state still requires everyone who serves/sells alcoholic beverages to be certified. For those that are applying for their “unrestricted” employee permit for the first time, you can find the steps to follow in the Indiana Online Licensing website
You should bear in mind that the Indiana ATC offers a free online training program that meets all the requirements for the server certification. You are offered the option to complete the training during the application process. These certifications last for a period of 3 years after which they will have to be renewed.
In Iowa there aren’t any state regulations in place that require a server or bartender to be licensed in order to sell alcohol. It is important to keep in mind some employers will require bartenders to complete such courses regardless of state or city laws. The minimum age to serve alcoholic beverages in Iowa is 18.
You should note that in the state of Iowa, local authorities may adopt ordinance governing licensed establishments that are located within their jurisdiction. For instance, age requirements may differ from county to county. If there is a local ordinance governing minors in licensed establishments, the ordinance applies.
In the state of Kansas there aren’t any state regulations in place that require a server or bartender to be licensed in order to sell alcohol, however, it is important to keep in mind though that some employers will require bartenders to complete such courses regardless of state or city laws. The minimum Age to serve alcoholic beverages In Kansas is 18, if the bar derives 50 percent of its sales from food and 21, if the bar does not have any food requirements. All persons who are mixing and dispensing alcoholic beverages in this state must be at least 21 years old.
Employee Qualifications for Dispensing/ Selling/ Serving Alcohol:
- Kansas restricts the employment of any person that has been convicted up to three alcohol related violations in the last five years; OR
- Up to two furnishing of alcohol to minor violation in five years.
- Felons of any type
- An employee that has received a DUI conviction may not mix, sell or dispense alcoholic liquor in a two-year period following the conviction.
In Kentucky, there aren’t any state-wide regulations in place that require a server or bartender to be licensed in order to sell alcohol. But it is important to keep in mind some employers, counties or cities will require bartenders to complete such courses regardless of state law. There are 97 local communities/ordinances that may require some form of training for individuals who sell or serve alcohol.
You will have to be at least 20 years old in order to serve alcohol in Kentucky. By local ordinances, many counties and cities in the state of Kentucky require server training. Simply put, you may or may not be required to take an alcohol training course. It all depends on which jurisdiction you are located in.
In Kentucky, the Alcoholic Beverage Control mainly recommends its Server Training in Alcoholic Regulations (S.T.A.R) course for all who serve or sell alcohol. STAR is Kentucky specific regard alcohol laws. The course is $40 per person. Certification is valid for 3 years. The class is approximately 4 hours long. Private classes are available for groups of 15 or more.
However, keep in mind, local ordinances may carry different course/ training requirements, so be sure to double check. Visit the county or city reference guides to look-up/contact your county Alcoholic Beverage Control Administrator.
The state of Kentucky prohibits employees from having a license if there is:
- A conviction for a felony of any kind within the past 5 years
- A conviction of any drug misdemeanor described in KRS218A.050 through KRS218A.130 within the past 2 years.
- A conviction for any misdemeanor directly or indirectly attributable to the use of alcoholic beverages within the past 2 years.
According to Louisiana law, any bartender or server must attend a Responsible Vendor (RV) Class to obtain an RV Server Permit within 45 days of being hired. RV Classes are held regularly throughout the state and are provided for a fee of $25 per person. The classes average two and half to three hours and include a test, which must be passed in order to receive your Responsible Vendor Server Card.
Depending on where you would like to serve, some local governments require that you register with them to take the class. If so, it is suggested that you contact your local Alcoholic Beverage Control Board to see if they do. After completing a RV course in person, you will receive a temporary permit. If you choose to take the course online, you should print your Certificate of Completion which will be your temporary permit.
After 7-10 days return to the website and print/ download your official RV permit. Your RV permit will be good for four years, at which point you will need to renew it. ATC no longer mails a permit to your residence. You will have to be at least 18 to serve be a bartender in the State of Louisiana.
State of Louisiana Bartender Qualifications:
- The Louisiana law restricts convicted felons from working in a bar in any capacity unless it has been 10 years since the completion of his/her sentence and his/her was not a crime of violence.
In Maine there aren’t any state regulations in place that require a server or bartender to be licensed in order to sell alcohol but you will have to be at least 18 to be a bartender. It is important to keep in mind some employers will require bartenders to complete such courses regardless of state or city laws.
In Maryland there aren’t any state regulations in place that require a server or bartender to be licensed in order to sell alcohol. It is important to keep in mind some employers will require bartenders to complete such courses regardless of state or city laws. In the state, minimum serving ages depend on the type of alcoholic beverage being served and local jurisdiction.
- Beer: 18 for both servers and bartenders
- Wine: 18 for both servers and bartenders
- Spirits (liquor): 18 for servers and 21 for bartenders
You should bear in mind that Maryland statutes allow local governments to dictate their own laws concerning the age to sell or serve alcoholic beverages. Some local jurisdictions may have more or less restrictions. For instance the county of Montgomery allows bartenders to serve/sell by the age of 18. While the cities like Annapolis and D.C. have set their own laws, requiring their bartenders be at least 21 years old. As such you should double-check with your local City Clerk’s office.
In Massachusetts, there aren’t any state regulations in place that require a server or bartender to be licensed in order to sell alcohol but you will have to be at least 18 to serve alcohol. It is important to keep in mind some employers will require bartenders to complete such courses regardless of state or city laws.
In Michigan, there aren’t any state regulations in place that require a server or bartender to be licensed in order to sell alcohol. It is still important to keep in mind some employers will require bartenders to complete such courses regardless of state or city laws.
Keep in mind, the state does require certain licensees (business owners) to have supervisory personnel on each shift and during all hours in which alcoholic liquor is served who have successfully completed a server-training program. It is common for supervisory personnel to receive better pay. If you would like to complete the mandatory server training requirement, Michigan has approved the following programs:
- TIPS: Training for Intervention Procedures
- C.A.R.E. : Controlling Alcohol Risks Effectively
- AIM: Alcohol Intervention Management
- ServSafe Alcohol Responsible Alcohol Service
Some of the above noted programs are offered in other states. You must complete a program that covers Michigan requirements.
In Minnesota, there aren’t any state regulations in place that require a server or bartender to be licensed in order to sell alcohol however, you will have to be at least 18 to serve alcohol.
This state has no state regulation that regulates licensing of bar tenders before they can sell alcohol, however, you must be at ;east 21 to sell alcohol in this state. Some employers may require bartenders to complete such courses regardless of state or city laws. For beer licensed premises, anyone who is legally employed may sell beer meaning ages 18-21. Those below the age of 18 (minors) are not allowed to come into possession of beer
For ABC or alcohol licensed premises (most common), employment to persons under 21 is prohibited. If someone is at least 18 years of age, they may wait tables, take orders and deliver alcohol products to the table. This does not allow them to serve as a bartender or manager.
In Missouri there aren’t any state regulations in place that require a server or bartender to be licensed in order to sell alcohol however, you must be at least 21 to serve alcohol.
According to Montana state law, anyone who sells or serves alcohol must receive training from a state-approved company in addition, they have to be at least 18 years of age. Liquor license holders are required to ensure that all employees who serve or sell alcohol as well as their immediate supervisors are trained. The license is subject to renewal every 3 years and Training must occur within 60 days of hire every three years
Training Providers for State of Montana:
Montana’s Fan Favorite Course Provider (Online)
Alcohol Training Content:
- Alcohol Server Training includes ways to identify and prevent sales and service to underage persons by covering multiple ways to identify fake or altered identification.
- Training will also cover how to refuse a sale or service and how to handle difficult situations. Additionally, training will include learning signs of intoxication, standard drink units, behavior cues and evaluation models to help determine intoxication.
Cost of Mandatory Training:
According to Montana.gov, the official state website, the law is silent as to whether the licensee or the employee is responsible for the cost of training. Costs are to be determined by agreement between the employer (licensee) and employee.
In the state of Nebraska, it is up to the different cities and counties to determine if a bartender needs to have a license because there is no such state regulation. As such, you should check with your City and County Clerk’s office first for any local training requirements
For instance, Lincoln has its own alcohol training program & server/seller requirements. Kearney requires servers to complete one of the state-approved programs. Nebraska City/ Otoe County and Ogallala have their own training requirements. North Platte requires training with their own police department. Omaha does not require training and so on.
Minimum Age to Serve Alcoholic Beverages In Nebraska:
At 19 years old, an employee may serve, sell, and dispense alcoholic beverages. They may also place orders and accept deliveries of alcoholic beverages from a licensed wholesaler at the premise.
At 16 years old, an employee may stock, sack and carry out alcoholic beverages from licensed establishments. This employee must be supervised by a person 21 years of age or older. At 16 years old, an employee is allowed to complete a transaction for sale of alcohol in the course of their employment
34. New Hampshire
In the state of New Hampshire, there are no state regulations in place that require a server or bartender to be licensed in order to sell alcohol. It is important to keep in mind some employers will require bartenders to complete such courses regardless of state or city laws. According to the New Hampshire Liquor Commission “annual training is recommended” – Look below for state-recommended providers for further details.
35. New Jersey
In New Jersey, there aren’t any state regulations in place that require a server or bartender to be licensed in order to sell alcohol. However, certain municipalities in New Jersey require bartenders to obtain “Bar Cards.” For example, a person looking to work on a liquor licensed premises in Hoboken would have to contact the local Police Department to apply for the “Bar Card,” before they can begin employment.
Thus, it is important to contact your local city clerk’s office or local police department to find out if a “Bar Card” is required in your county/city. You must be at least 18 years old to be a bar tender in New Jersey.
- Can a Parent Rent Hotel Room for Unaccompanied Minor in 2021? - May 22, 2021
- How Do Hotels Prevent Bed Bug Infestation? [10 Smart Tips] - May 22, 2021
- How Do Hotels Know You Smoked in the Room? - May 19, 2021