In the United States of America, before you can practice as a cosmetologist, you would need a license or else you will be on the wrong side of the law. In order to qualify to become a licensed or certified cosmetologist, you need to receive an education in cosmetology. The type of education you need to receive may differ depending on your current state of residence.

Even though most states will require you to attend an approved beauty school, others will allow you to complete an apprenticeship instead and that is perhaps the only route you can follow if you want to get a cosmetology license without school in the United States.

Alongside meeting the training requirements, you also need to be aware of state specific guidelines on continuing education units (CEUs), license renewal periods and fees, license reciprocity or transfer amongst others, hence the need for this article.

The General Requirements and Procedure for Applying and Getting a Cosmetology License in The United States of America

Almost all the states have a similar process for applying for state licensure as a cosmetologist, and these are the basic requirements;

  • Prospective cosmetologist must apply for federal background checks. They may apply through the state bureau of investigation or a local police department. Results are to be sent directly to the licensing agency.
  • Achieve minimum licensure requirements
  • Achieve required education/experience for licensure
  • Complete fingerprinting process for background investigation
  • Complete license application and provide necessary documentation
  • Pass state examination
  • Maintain state licensure through continuing education and license renewal
  • Applicants also need three reference letters; they are to affirm moral character.
  • Transcripts are to be sent straight from the Cosmetology school.
  • Legal residency must be documented. An applicant who was born in the United States may include a notarized copy of a birth certificate.
  • The applicant will need to attach a two by two photograph to the application form and have the accompanying affidavit notarized.
  • Applicants who have criminal or disciplinary histories will need to provide details.

How to Get a Cosmetology License Without School in Each State of USA

1. ALABAMA

If you are interested in securing a cosmetology license in Alabama having met the basic requirements as stated above, you are expected to complete 1,500 hours of a formal cosmetology program, or 3,000 hours in a 3-year apprenticeship under a licensed cosmetologist. Then, pass a theory and a practical exam and you must be at least 17 years old and have a minimum of 10th grade education.

The Training Requirements are stated below;

  • 1500 school hours; 3000 apprentice hours in 3 years; Written and Practical Exams
  • If you are playing for Instructor License, then you are expected to complete
  • 12th grade education; 1 year in practice; 650-hour teacher training course and exams

Please be informed that you are expected to renew the license every 2 odd number years during your birth month; $80. For reciprocity, you would need to request certification to be sent from current state; Contact board for paperwork and exams; $100 fee.

Once you have completed the applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

Alabama Board of Cosmetology

(800) 815-7453

[email protected]

2. ALASKA

If you are interested in securing a cosmetology license in Alaska having met the basic requirements as stated above, you are expected to finish 1,650 hours of a board-approved cosmetology program. You can also do 2,000 hours of apprenticeship under a licensed cosmetologist. You must pass an exam to get your license and be at least 17 years old; High school education or equivalent.

You are expected to put in a minimum of 1650 school hours/2000 apprentice hours; plus written and practical exams to qualify for a license in Alaska. Please note that you are expected to renew by Aug. 31 of odd-numbered years; $160 fee/$240 instructor fee

For reciprocity, you would need to hold a current license in a state with equivalent requirements; 1 year of full-time employment + 1500 school hours, OR 2 years of full-time employment. Once you have completed the applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

Alaska Board of Barbers & Hairdressers

(907) 465-2547

[email protected]

3. ARIZONA

If you are interested in securing a cosmetology license in Arizona having met the basic requirements as stated above, you are expected to put in 1,450 hours of a board-certified cosmetology program. Pass both a theory and a practical exam to receive your license. In addition to that, you must be at least 23 years old; 2 years of high school education or equivalent.

As regard trainings, you are expected to put in 1600 school hours; written and practical exams. Please be informed that you are expected to renew the license every year by the practitioner’s birthday; $30 Fee For reciprocity the requirement is at least 1 year of practice in current state of licensure within the five years prior to application. Once you have completed the applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

Arizona State Board of Cosmetology

(480) 784-4539

[email protected]

4. ARKANSAS

In Arkansas, in order to qualify for a cosmetology license, you are expected to complete a 1,500-hour formal cosmetology program, and pass a written test to obtain your license. So also, you must be at least 16 years old and have a 10th grade education or equivalent

As regard training, you are expected to put in 1500 school hours; written and practical exams. You are expected to renew your license every 2 years by the practitioner’s birthday and with $80 Fee. To qualify for reciprocity, you are expected to hold a valid cosmetology license; Have certification of licensure and training; Pass a state law exam. Once you have completed the applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

Arkansas State Board of Cosmetology

(501) 682-2168

[email protected]

5. CALIFORNIA

If you are interested in becoming a licensed cosmetologist in California, you are expected to Pass a 1,600-hour board-approved course or complete an apprenticeship of 3,200 hours plus 220 hours of classroom time. You must pass a theory and a practical test to get the license. In addition to that, you are expected to also be at least 16 years old; 10th grade education or equivalent.

Please be informed that you are expected to renew your license every 2 years, in odd-numbered years, by the original licensing date and you will pay $50 fee. In order to qualify for reciprocity, you must hold a cosmetology license in good standing in home state; Must be licensed 3 out of the last 5 years. Once you have completed the applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

California Board of Barbering and Cosmetology

(800) 952-5210

[email protected]

6. COLORADO

In Colorado, if you want to apply and get a cosmetology license having met the basic requirements, you are expected to complete an Associate degree of 60 credit hours. Take a practical and a written exam to get your license. In addition to that, you must be at least 16 years old.

Please be informed that you are expected to renew every 2 years, in odd- or even-numbers years, by April 30; and you are expected to pay $32 fee / $47 reinstate fee. In order to qualify for reciprocity, you are expected to submit an application for licensure by endorsement; and hold a valid license from home state with equivalent requirements.

Once you have completed the applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

Colorado Office of Barber and Cosmetology

(303) 894-7427

[email protected]

7. CONNECTICUT

Before you can qualify for a license in Connecticut, you are expected to graduate from a 1,500-hour course of study and pass a written test with a score of 70% or higher and then fulfil the standard requirements in the United States of America. Please note that you must be at least 16 years old with 8th grade education to qualify for a cosmetology license in Connecticut.

You are expected to renew your license every 2 years by the last day of your birth month; $100 fee. In order to qualify for reciprocity in Connecticut, you must hold a valid license from a state with equivalent requirements; Pass a written exam Once you have completed the applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

Connecticut Department of Public Health – Board for Barbers, Hairdressers & Cosmeticians

(860) 509-7603

[email protected]

8. DELAWARE

In Delaware, if you are interested in applying and getting a cosmetology license having met the standard requirements, you must have completed a 1,500-hour cosmetology program or a 3,000-hour apprenticeship. Pass the online exam with a 75% or higher and attain a 10th grade education or equivalent.

Please be informed that you will be required to renew your license by Oct. 31 of even-numbered years. In order to qualify for reciprocity

  • Method 1: Must be licensed in a state with equal requirements
  • Method 2: Submit a notarized statement from an employer certifying that you have been working for at least 5 years

Once you have completed the applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

Delaware Board of Cosmetology and Barbering

(302) 744-4500

[email protected]

9. FLORIDA

In Florida, if you are interested in applying and getting a cosmetology license having met the standard requirements, you must finish a course of study that is at least 1,200 hours. Pass a two-part exam to obtain your cosmetology license and be at least 16 years old; High school diploma.

Please note that you are expected to renew by October 31; Group 1 licenses: even-numbered years / Group 2 licenses: odd-numbered years and pay $55 fee. In order to qualify for a reciprocity, you must hold an active license in another state with equal requirements; otherwise, must complete additional training hours to qualify for endorsement.

Once you have completed the applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

Florida Division of Professions, Board of Cosmetology

(850) 487-1395

http://www.myfloridalicense.com/contactus/

10. GEORGIA

In order to qualify for a cosmetology license in Georgia, you must have completed a 1,500-hour cosmetology program or a 3,000-hour apprenticeship with at least 18 months of training. Pass the two-part cosmetology exam to receive your license. In addition to that, you must be at least 17 years’ old

Please note that you are expected to renew your license biennially by March 31 of even-numbered years, with a fee of $50. In order to qualify for reciprocity, you must be licensed in a state or country that has similar requirements and grants reciprocity to Georgia licensees

Once you have completed the applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

Georgia State Board of Cosmetology

(478) 207-2440

http://sos.ga.gov/cgi-bin/email.asp

11. HAWAII

In Hawaii, if you are interested in applying and getting a cosmetology license, you must attend a program of at least 1,800 classroom hours or 3,600 hours of an apprenticeship and pass the closed-book exam to get your license. In addition to that, you must be at least 16 years old; High school education or equivalent.

Please be informed that you are expected to renew your license by March 31 of odd-numbered years and pay a fee of $100. In order to qualify for reciprocity, you must have completed similar or equivalent education requirements, and may be required to take written and practical exams

Once you have completed the applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

Hawaii Board of Barbering and Cosmetology

(808) 586-3000

[email protected]

12. IDAHO

In order to qualify for a cosmetology license in Idaho, you must have completed a program with at least 2,000 hours of classroom time. Pass a written and practical exam with at least a 75 percent, be at least 16.5 years old; 10th grade education or equivalent and you’ll be ready to start your career!

Please be informed that in order to qualify for renewal, you must be licensed 3 of the last 5 years to qualify for endorsement; hold an active license in a state with similar requirements, or complete additional hours to meet minimum

As regards reciprocity, the state of Idaho does not have reciprocity program. But to qualify for endorsement, you must have had an active license for 3 of the last 5 years. If you are done with your applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

Idaho Bureau of Occupational Licenses, Board of Cosmetology

(208) 334-3233

[email protected]

13. ILLINOIS

In Illinois, if you are interested in applying and getting a cosmetology license, you must finish a 1,500-hour cosmetology program and pass the written exam and be at least 18 years old with High school diploma or equivalent. Please be informed that you are expected to renew your license by Sept. 30 of each odd-numbered year and pay a fee pf $25 per year.

In order to qualify for reciprocity, you must submit an application for licensure by endorsement, and provide certification of licensure from current state board. If you are done with your applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

Illinois Department of Financial & Professional Regulation – Cosmetology

(800) 560-6420

http://www.idfpr.com/profs/Email/prfGrp01.asp

14. INDIANA

Please be informed that the cosmetology license requirements for Indiana includes: Graduating from a 1,500-hour course of study and passing the state exam with a 75% or higher and be at least 18 years old with 10th grade education or equivalent. Please be informed that you would have to renew your license every 4 years by August 1; $40 fee.

In order to qualify for reciprocity, you must be licensed in a state that requires 1500 training hours; At least 70% passing on written and practical exams. If you are done with your applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

Indiana Professional Licensing Agency – State Board of Cosmetology & Barber Examiners

(317) 234-3031

[email protected]

15. IOWA

In order to qualify for a cosmetology license in Iowa, you must have completed 2,100 classroom hours of a board-approved program. Pass the National Interstate Cosmetology exam with a 75% or higher and be at least 16 years old; 10th grade education or equivalent.

Please be informed that you are expected to renew your license by Dec. 31 of even-numbered years; and pay a fee of $60. In order to qualify for reciprocity, you are expected to transfer through endorsement and must be licensed in a state with similar or equivalent requirements for 12 of the last 24 months.

If you are done with your applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

Iowa Board of Cosmetology Arts & Sciences

(515) 281-4416

[email protected]

16. KANSAS

In Kansas, if you are interested in applying and getting a cosmetology license, you must complete a 1,500-hour course of study, then pass the Kansas Board Exam with a 75% or higher. In addition, you must be at least 17 years old and have a high school diploma or equivalent.

You are expected to renew your license every 2 years in the month of original licensure and you are to pay $60 fee. To qualify for reciprocity, you must be licensed in a state with similar or equivalent requirements; and must pass an open book exam. Once you have completed the applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

Kansas Board of Cosmetology

(785) 296-3155

[email protected]

17. KENTUCKY

In order to qualify for a cosmetology license in Kentucky, you must finish a board-certified course of at least 1,800 hours. Pass the apprentice practical and written exam. Work for six months under a licensed cosmetologist before taking the cosmetology exam. Take the exam, be at least 17 years old; 12th grade education and you’re fully licensed!

Please be informed that you are going to be renewing your license every year between July 1-31; for a fee of $20. In order to qualify for reciprocity, you must have a certification of license from state board that issued the license. If you are done with your applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

Kentucky Board of Hairdressers and Cosmetologists

(502) 564-4262

[email protected]

18. LOUISIANA

To qualify for a cosmetology license in Louisiana, you must get a 1,500-hour course from a board-certified school under your belt; then you’ll have three tests to tackle. Pass the written and practical National Interstate Cosmetology tests, then get a 75% or higher on the Louisiana State Cosmetology exam, which focuses on state laws relating to your work. In addition, you must be at least 16 years old; 10th grade education.

Please be informed that you will be expected to renew your license every year by licensee’s birthday; and you will pay $25 fee. Once you have completed the applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

Louisiana Board of Cosmetology

(225) 756-3404

[email protected]

19. MAINE

Maine is one of the very few states that has exceptional cosmetology license requirements. Maine requires a 1,500-hour cosmetology program, and it takes at least nine months to complete. Alternatively, you can do 2,500 hours of an apprenticeship under a licensed cosmetologist. Pass the written and practical portions of the National Interstate Cosmetology exam, and you must be at least 17 years old with 10th grade education.

Please be informed that you will renew your license every year in October at a $50 fee. In order to qualify for reciprocity, you must hold a valid license in another state with similar requirements; If requirements differ, must pass state exams. If you are done with your applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

Maine Office of Professional & Occupational Regulation – Barbering & Cosmetology Licensing

(207) 624-8579

[email protected]

20. MARYLAND

To qualify for a cosmetology license in Maryland, you must complete an approved 1,500-hour program or work at least 20 hours a week for 24 months as a registered apprentice. Then, pass a written and practical exam. Maryland also has a Senior Licensed Cosmetologist distinction, which requires another test after two years of work. In addition to that, you must be at least 17 years old and 9th grade education.

Please be informed that you are required to renew your license every 2 years at a fee of $25. In order to qualify for reciprocity, you must hold a valid license in another state with similar requirements; Provide certification that license is current and in good standing. If you are done with your applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

Maryland Board of Cosmetologists

(410) 230-6320

[email protected]

21. MASSACHUSETTS

Massachusetts is one of the very few states that has a two-level system. After completing a course of at least 1,000 hours of instruction, you can get licensed as a Type 2 Operator. This level allows you to work under a licensed cosmetologist. You must pass a written and a practical exam to obtain this certification.

To work unsupervised, you must work for two years under a licensed cosmetologist. You don’t have to take any more tests, and your supervisor just has to sign an affidavit confirming you worked with them for two years. In addition, you must be at least 17 years old and with 10th grade education

Please be informed that you will renew your license every 2 years by licensee’s birthday at a fee of $68. In Massachusetts, in order to qualify for reciprocity, must pass the state’s written and practical board exams. If you are done with your applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

Board of Registration of Cosmetologists

(617) 727-9940

[email protected]

22. MICHIGAN

To qualify for a cosmetology license in Michigan, you must complete a formal 1,500-hour course of study, or do a two-year apprenticeship that is 1,920 hours long and no more than 40 hours a week. With this option, the person you study under must have at least three years of experience. When you’re done, pass the Michigan Cosmetology Exam with at least a 75% on the practical portion and a 70% on the written part. So also, you must be at least 17 years old and with 9th grade education

Please be informed that you will have to renew your license every 2 years by the end of August at a fee of $48. In order to qualify for reciprocity, you must hold a valid license in another state with similar or greater requirements. If you have completed your applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

Michigan Department of Licensing & Regulatory Affairs – Cosmetology Department

(517) 241-8720

[email protected]

23. MINNESOTA

In order to qualify as a licensed cosmetologist in Minnesota, you would need a GED or high school diploma. You must complete a 1,550-hour program of study. Pass a General and State written exam after completing the program. Once you have your license, complete four hours of continuing education every three years to keep it.

Please be informed that you are expected to renew your license every 3 years and at a fee of $81. In order to qualify for reciprocity in Minnesota, you are expected to go through verification of current licensure, high school diploma, completion of exams and an application for reciprocity

If you have completed your applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

Minnesota Board of Cosmetologist Examiners

(651) 201-2742

[email protected]

24. MISSISSIPPI

To qualify for a cosmetology license in Mississippi, the state requires a 12th-grade education with GED or high-school diploma, plus 1,500 hours of a formal cosmetology program. Pass a theory test and a practical exam and you must be at least 17 years old.

Please be informed that you are expected to renew your license every 2 years at a fee of $50. In order to qualify for reciprocity, you must submit an application and an affidavit/ certification of training that meets Mississippi’s reciprocity requirements; Appear for an application eligibility interview.

If you have completed your applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology

(601) 359-1820

[email protected]

25. MISSOURI

To qualify for a cosmetology license in Missouri, you must get 1,500 hours of training at one of these schools, or complete a 3,000-hour apprenticeship under a licensed cosmetologist. Pass a practical exam and a theory test with a 75% or higher to get your license. So also, you must be at least 17 years old; 10th grade education or equivalent.

Please note that you are expected to renew your license by Sept. 30 of odd-numbered years and at a fee of $30. In order to qualify for reciprocity, you must hold a current license in a state with substantially similar or superior requirements; Practiced cosmetology for 2 consecutive years in another state.

If you have completed your applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

Missouri Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners

(573) 751-1052

[email protected]

26. MONTANA

To qualify for a cosmetology license in Montana, you must obtain 2,000 hours of training at a board-approved school, then pass a written test and a practical exam. In addition, you must be at least 18 years old and with High school education or GED

Please be informed that you will be renewing your license biennially by March 1 and at a fee of $80. In order to qualify for reciprocity, you must hold a license in a state with comparable training and testing requirements; may be required to take additional training hours plus national exams.

If you are done with your applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

Montana Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists

(406) 841-2202

[email protected]

27. NEBRASKA

To qualify for a cosmetology license in Nebraska, you must complete a board-approved, 2,100-hour training program. Pass the National Interstate Cosmetology written exam and an exam that covers Nebraska state laws. Get 8 hours of continuing education credit every 2 years to keep your license. So also, you must be at least 17 years old; High school education or equivalent; attend a basic first aid class.

Please note that you will be renewing your license biennially by Dec. 31 of even-numbered years and a fee of $118. To qualify for a reciprocity, you must hold a current license in another jurisdiction issued on the basis of a written and practical examination. If you are done with your applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

Nebraska Department of Health & Human Services – Cosmetology

(402) 471-2117

[email protected]

28. NEVADA

In Nevada, the cosmetology license requirements is not same as it is obtainable in most states. To qualify for the license, you must finish a 1,800-hour course at a board-approved school, complete 3,600 hours of an apprenticeship under a licensed practitioner, or show proof of four years of experience as a cosmetologist in another state. Either way, you’ll have to pass the National Interstate Cosmetology written and practical exams, plus a Nevada state exam. Complete four hours of continuing education in infection control to keep your license.

In addition to that, you must be at least 18 years old; 10th grade education or equivalent. Please be informed that you are expected to renew your license by June 30, in every odd-numbered year and with a fee of $70. To qualify for reciprocity in Nevada, you must have a current license (in good standing) in another state; Must have passed a NIC written exam in state of licensure, or take the exam in Nevada

If you have completed your applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

Nevada State Board of Cosmetology

(702) 486-6542

[email protected]

29. NEW HAMPSHIRE

To qualify for cosmetology license, you are expected to complete 1,500 hours of training at a board-approved school, or 3,000 hours of training over 18 months with a licensed cosmetologist who has at least 2 years of experience. Pass a written and a practical exam and with a High school education or equivalent.

The practice is that you would have to renew your license after every 2 years by the last day of the licensee’s birthday month and at a fee of $40. In order to qualify for reciprocity, you must have completed 1500 training hours in home state or 3000 hours of work experience; Pass a hands-on practical exam and a national written exam in English.

If you have completed your applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

New Hampshire Board of Barbering, Cosmetology & Esthetics

(603) 271-3608

[email protected]

30. NEW JERSEY

To qualify for a cosmetology license in New Jersey, you must finish a 1,200-hour cosmetology program. After 6 months, you can get a student permit and start working while you’re still in school! Pass a written and a practical exam with a 75% to get your license. In addition to that, you must be at least 17 years old; High school diploma or equivalent

Please informed that you are expected to renew your license by Sept. 30 of even-numbered years and at a fee of $60. In order to qualify for reciprocity, you must hold a current license in another state with satisfactory requirements; Otherwise, must submit an “out-of-state” application and required documentation, and pass exams If you have completed your applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

New Jersey State Board of Cosmetology and Hairstyling

(973) 504-6400

[email protected]

31. NEW MEXICO

To qualify for a cosmetology license in New Mexico, you must complete a 1,600-hour program at one of these board-approved schools. Pass the national practical and written exams, plus the state law exam, with a 75% or higher. So also, you must be at least 17 years old; 10th grade education

You are expected to renew your license every 2 years in licensee’s birthday month and at a fee of $50. In order to qualify for reciprocity, you must provide verification of licensure in another state with similar or superior requirements; May substitute 150 credit hours for each 6 full months of licensed experience.

If you have completed your applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

New Mexico Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists

(505) 476-4622

[email protected]

32. NEW YORK

To qualify for a cosmetology license in New York, you must Graduate from a course of at least 1,000 hours or show proof of 5 years of certified experience as a cosmetologist in another state. Pass the written and practical exams with a 70% or higher to get your license. In addition, you must be at least 17 years old.

Please be informed that you would have to renew your license every 4 years and at a fee of $40. In order to qualify for reciprocity, you must be currently licensed from a state on NY’s reciprocity list; In some instances, must have 1+ years of licensure in order to qualify. If you have completed your applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

New York Department of State Division of Licensing Services – Cosmetology

(518) 474-4429

[email protected]

33. NORTH CAROLINA

To qualify for a cosmetology license in North Carolina, you must complete 1,500 hours of training at a cosmetic art school, then pass the written and practical exams with a 75% or higher. You’ll need 8 hours of continuing education credit to renew your license.

Please be informed that you would have to renew your license every 3 years by Oct. 1 and at a fee of $23. In order to qualify for reciprocity, you must hold a current license in good standing, meaning no disciplinary actions and be licensed in a state that offers reciprocity to North Carolina. If you have completed your applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

North Carolina Board of Cosmetic Art Examiners

(919) 733-4117

[email protected]

34. NORTH DAKOTA

To qualify for a cosmetology license in North Dakota, you must finish a 1,800-hour training course at an approved cosmetology school, then pass the three required exams with a 75% or higher to receive your license. Take a look at their State Board website. So also, you must have a High school diploma

Please be informed that you would have to renew your license every year by Dec. 31 and a fee of $15. Please be informed that to qualify for reciprocity, you must provide a letter of certification from current state board and a copy of the state’s licensing requirements; Must take the North Dakota Laws, Rules & Regulations exam. If you have completed your applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

North Dakota State Board of Cosmetology

(701) 224-9800

[email protected]

35. OHIO

In order to qualify for cosmetology license, you are expected to meet the basic qualifications and also the state of Ohio requires 1,200 hours of cosmetology school. Pass the practical and theory tests, then take 8 hours of continuing education credit every 2 years to keep your license. In addition, you must be at least 16 years old and with 10th grade education.

Please be reminded that you will need to renew your license by Jan. 31 of every odd-numbered year and with a fee of $45. Please be informed that Ohio does not offer reciprocity. Once you complete your applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

Ohio State Board of Cosmetology

(614) 466-3834

[email protected]

36. OKLAHOMA

Aside from meeting the basic requirements, the cosmetology license requirements for Oklahoma include: Completing a 1,500-hour cosmetology course, then passing the state written and practical exam to get your license and you must be at least 16 years old; 8th grade education

It is important to state that you would need to renew your license annually, on the last day of the licensee’s birthday month and with a fee of $25. In order to qualify for reciprocity, you must hold a current license in a state with equal or higher requirements; At least 3 years of recent, licensed work experience; May be required to take exams. Once you complete your applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

Oklahoma State Board of Cosmetology & Barbering

(405) 521-2441

[email protected]

37. OREGON

To qualify for a cosmetology license in Oregon, you must finish 1,450 hours of training at a cosmetology school, then pass the written exam and the state law exam to start your career as a cosmetologist.

You would have to renew your license every 2 years by the last day of the month of issuance and at a fee of $40. To apply for reciprocity, you are expected to submit an affidavit of licensure and a qualifying application; Pass the written exam, which includes the Oregon Laws & Rules exam. If you have completed your applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

Oregon Health Licensing Agency – Board of Cosmetology

(503) 378-8667

[email protected]

38. PENNSYLVANIA

To qualify for a cosmetology license in Pennsylvania, you must complete 1,250 hours of beauty school or do a 2,000-hour apprenticeship under a licensed cosmetologist with 5 years of experience and two employees. Pass the practical and theory exams. In addition, you must be at least 16 years old; 10th grade education or equivalent

Please be informed that you are expected to renew every 2 years, in even/odd-numbered years, by Jan. 31 and at a fee of $67. To apply for reciprocity, you must hold a current license; Have 2 years of working experience from the original licensure dates. If you have completed your applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

Pennsylvania State Board of Cosmetology

(717) 783-7130

[email protected]

39. RHODE ISLAND

To qualify for a cosmetology license in Rhode Island, you must complete a 1,500-hour program of study. You can do a work-study program after 1,000 hours. Pass the written and practical exams and you’ll be a licensed cosmetologist. In addition, you must be at least 18 years old; of good moral character; U.S. citizen / legal entry and with High school education or equivalent

Please be informed that you would have to renew your license every 2 years by Sept. 30, on an odd-even year basis and at a fee of $67. To qualify for reciprocity, you must hold a license in another state with equivalent educational requirements (work experience may be considered); Pass licensing exams. If you have completed your applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

State of Rhode Island Department of Health – Board of Barbering & Hairdressing

(401) 222-2828

[email protected]

40. SOUTH CAROLINA

To qualify for a cosmetology license in South Carolina, you must finish a 1,500-hour training program, then pass the theory and practical exams. You must complete 12 hours of continuing education every year to maintain your license. So also, you must be at least 16 years old; 10th grade education or equivalent

Please be informed that you would have to renew your license every 2 years by March 10 and at a fee of $52. To qualify for reciprocity, you must hold a current license, which is in good standing, in another state; Must have passed a nationally recognized exam. If you have completed your applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

South Carolina Board of Cosmetology

(803) 896-4588

[email protected]

41. SOUTH DAKOTA

If you are interested in applying for a cosmetology license in South Dakota, you will need a school with a 2,100-hour curriculum or an apprenticeship where you work 40 hours a week for 18 months. Pass a theory exam, a practical exam, and a state law test. So also, you must be at least 18 years old and with a High school diploma or GED.

Please note that you would have to renew your license on or before the licensee’s birth date every year and at a fee of $20. To apply for reciprocity, you must hold a current license from a state with equal or greater requirements; Work experience may be considered (2 work hours = 1 school hour); Pass SD laws and rules exam. If you have completed your applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

South Dakota Cosmetology Commission

(605) 773-6193

[email protected]

42. TENNESSEE

Tennessee is one of the few states that has relatively easy cosmetology license requirements. Apart from meeting the basic requirements, you are expected to attend a board-approved beauty school with 1,500 hours of training. Pass the practical and theory exams and you must be at least 16 years old and with a 10th grade education

You would need to renew your license every 2 years before license expiration date and at a fee of $50. To apply for reciprocity, you must provide proof of a current license from another state with equal requirements; May substitute with proof of 5 years of work experience. If you have completed your applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents

State Board

Tennessee Board of Cosmetology & Barber Examiners

(615) 741-2515

[email protected]

43. TEXAS

To qualify for a cosmetology license in Texas having me the basic requirements, you must complete a 1,500-hour cosmetology program, or 1,000 hours of cosmetology school plus 500 hours at a high school or vocational program. Take a written and a practical exam. You’ll need four hours of continuing education every two years. In addition, you must be at least 17 years old and with a High school diploma or equivalent

Please be informed that you would need to renew your license every 2 years by date of original licensure and at a fee of $53. To apply for reciprocity, you must be licensed in a state with substantially equivalent requirements; In some cases, work experience may be credited. If you have completed your applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation – Board of Cosmetology

(800) 803-9202

[email protected]

44. UTAH

To qualify for a cosmetology license in Utah, you must finish a board-certified training program with at least 1,600 hours. Pass a theory and practical exam to obtain your license and begin work as a cosmetologist. In addition, you must be at least 17 years old; Of good moral character

Please be informed that you would need to renew your license by Sept. 30 of odd-numbered years and at a fee of $52. To apply for reciprocity, you must submit verification of current license; Must meet educational or experience requirements and exam requirements. If you have completed your applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

Utah Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing – Cosmetology & Barbering

(801) 530-6628

[email protected]

45. VERMONT

In Vermont, to qualify for a cosmetology license you must meet the basic requirements and you must be at least 18 years old and have a GED, you can apply to a 1,500-hour program of study or do a 24-month apprenticeship with a licensed cosmetologist who worked in Vermont for at least the past 5 years. Pass the written, practical, and state law exams to get your license.

Please note that you would need to renew your license by Nov. 30 of odd-numbered years and a fee of $130. If you want to apply for reciprocity, you must hold a license in a state whose requirements are equal or superior to Vermont’s; Pass a state law exam. If you have completed your applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

Vermont Board of Barbers & Cosmetologists

(802) 828-1134

[email protected]

46. VIRGINIA

If intend applying and getting a cosmetology license in Virginia, aside from meeting the basic requirements, you are expected to meet state’s requirements and the cosmetology license requirements for Virginia include: Completing 1,500 hours of study at a cosmetology school or finishing 3,000 hours of training at an apprenticeship. Pass the written and practical exams.

You are expected to renew every 2 years by date of original licensure and at a fee of $40. To apply for reciprocity, you must have a current license in a state with substantially similar training requirements; Submit application for endorsement and proof of licensure. If you have completed your applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

Virginia Board of Barbers and Cosmetology

(804) 367-8590

[email protected]

47. WASHINGTON

To qualify for a cosmetology license in Washington, you must finish a 1,600-hour cosmetology course, or do a 2,000-hour apprenticeship approved by the state. Pass a written and a practical exam to get your license. In addition, you must be at least 17 years old.

Please be reminded that you would have to renew your license every 2 years and at a fee of $55. If you want to apply for reciprocity, you must have a current license in good standing in another state; If licensed in another country, must pass state exams. If you have completed your applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

Washington State Department of Licensing-Cosmetologists

(360) 664-6626

[email protected]

48. WEST VIRGINIA

To qualify for a cosmetology license in West Virginia, you must attend an approved cosmetology college with at least 1,800 hours of instruction. Pass a written and practical exam to get your license. You’ll need at least four hours of continuing education credit each year. So also, you must be at least 18 years old; High school education; Of good moral character

Please be informed that you would have to renew your license annually and at a fee of $35. In order to qualify for reciprocity especially if licensed in a NIC state, you must pass state law exam; If licensed in a non-NIC state, submit an application for review. If you have completed your applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

West Virginia State Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists

(304) 558-2924

[email protected]

49. WISCONSIN

To qualify for a cosmetology license in Wisconsin, you must graduate from an approved cosmetology school with 1,550 hours of training. Alternatively, you can complete a 4,000-hour apprenticeship. Then, pass a theory test and a practical skills exam. Earn four hours of continuing education every two years to renew your license. In addition, you must be at least 18 years old with high school diploma or equivalent.

Please be informed that you would have to renew your license in March of odd-numbered years and at a fee of $82. In order to apply for reciprocity having currently licensed in another state, you must have completed at least 4,000 hours of licensed practice. If you have completed your applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

Wisconsin Cosmetology Examining Board

(608) 266-2112

[email protected]

50. WYOMING

To qualify for a cosmetology license in Wyoming, you must complete a 10.5-month program with at least 2,000 hours of training. Pass a written and a practical exam, and you’ll be on your way to starting your career. So also, you must be at least 16 years old and with 10th grade education.

Please note that your first renewal occurs after one year of acquisition; then, renew every 2 years in the licensee’s birthday month and with a fee of $96. In order to qualify for reciprocity, you must be currently licensed in a state with equal requirements and you must have graduated from a state-recognized school and taken board-administered exams. If you have completed your applications, you can forward your applications, application fees and supporting documents to;

State Board

Wyoming Board of Cosmetology

(307) 777-3534

[email protected]

Ajaero Tony Martins