No, there is no statewide license needed to pressure wash in the state of Florida. Note that if your aims are domestic, you can simply acquire or rent a pressure washer and go ahead with your job. But, if you are looking to start a pressure washing business in Florida, then you need to obtain a general contractor’s occupational license.
Florida is probably the most saturated market in the U.S. for exterior cleaning companies. A good number of these companies run standing operations leveraging proper techniques and carrying all the appropriate state and local requirements, however, there are some that operate illegally by not following state-mandated laws and regulations.
If you are operating a Florida pressure washing company, you are expected to obtain workers’ compensation insurance for your employees. In the state of Florida, pressure washing and roof cleaning services are coded as construction trades, and all construction companies are mandated to carry this insurance.
The only legal exception to not obtaining worker compensation insurance is if a Florida pressure washing company is structured as an LLC or a corporation, where three or more owners can file for workers Comp exemptions.
This entails that they, as owners, are waving their rights to compensation if they hurt themselves on the job. This is very common amongst smaller Florida construction companies as the cost of worker comp insurance can be very exorbitant.
Also, note that all pressure washing and roof cleaning companies in the state of Florida are expected to obtain liability insurance. Have it in mind that local laws on occupation licensing can vary from county to county; many require it, and many do not. However, the state of Florida does not require any state licensing to pressure wash at this time.
How to Obtain a General Contractors Occupational License in Florida
Just like it was noted above, if you are looking to start a pressure washing company in Florida, you may have to obtain a general contractor’s occupational license. Note that the licensing process will be conducted through the Florida Construction Industry Licensing Board — which operates under the Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation (DBPR). The process is as follows;
Table of Content
Apply for both the Construction License examination and Business and Finance Exam
You are expected to apply for both exams with Professional Testing Inc (PTI). You can choose to call at 407-264-0562 or apply via the Internet at floridaexam.com. Note that the construction license exams you should take are the general contractor’s contract administration and project management sections (general contractors’ license that does not limit the locations or type of work you may perform, like pressure washing).
In addition, it is very necessary to be conscious that variations exist that are specific to residential, commercial construction, and improvements, along with more specialized “Division II” licenses applicable to materials and types of repair (sheet metal, plumbing), though these do not apply directly to pressure washing.
Pay The Fees Associated With The Exam
According to reports, the construction license exam costs a total of $215. This fee covers the $135 PTI exam fee and the Department of Business and Professional Regulation (DBPR) fee. If you intend to pay via credit or debit, you may pay a total of $215 in one payment.
But if you intend to pay by check, then remember to make the first check of $135 payable to “Professional Testing Inc.” and the second check payable to the “Department of Business and Professional Regulation.” Both checks can also be sent to PTI as they will forward the $80 check to the DBPR.
Contact Pearson VUE
After you must have received authorization to take the Business and Finance Exam by mail, you will be expected to contact Pearson VUE. Pearson VUE delivers high-stake exams that empower professions to certify and license individuals who safeguard and advance their communities. Note that you will receive authorization after you apply for the construction portion of the exam.
Study For Both Exams
It is imperative you study well for both exams. You can choose to obtain test preparation materials from the DBPR website. Also, note that you may bring reference materials into the examination room at the time of the exam.
Take and pass the Construction and Business and Finance Exams
Have it in mind that you are expected to achieve a minimum score of 70 percent on each section to pass the exam. At the exam site, don’t forget you will need your social security number forms that show that you are authorized to take the exam. You will be expected to answer 120 questions for the Construction exam and 120 for the Business and Finance exam.
Request Your Actual License
After you pass your exams, you will have to request your actual license from the DBPR. Download the application form at myflorida.com/dbpr. Endeavor to include with your license application a fee of $249 from May 1 of any even year to August 31 of any odd year. Note that this fee will become $149 from September 1 of an odd year to April 30 of any even year. Renewal of this license tends to be biannual.
Pressure washing is more effective in removing dirt and grime than other methods of cleaning. However, note that nearly every state has license requirements for contractors, and Florida is no exception.
Starting a pressure washing company and offering contractor services without a license is a serious offense in Florida, and there are various ways you can get into trouble. Since the stakes are so high and the penalties can be quite exorbitant, it is pertinent to understand what’s required.